Maiden Voyage Into Book Promotion

“The first step is awkward, followed by a progressively satisfying journey that last a lifetime.” – jmbCover - 24 Years

If there was an award, Most Inept Social Media Marketing by an Author, I would easily win (related topics: Worlds Worst Running Blogger and Not Your Typical Running Blog.) In fact, this blog is pretty much the extent of my social media activity. I do, however, link my blog to other social media sites like Facebook, Tumbler and Twitter. When I found out that I had Twitter followers I was astonished, and thought, really? What 140 characters of my blog are going in there? Are there pictures? Holy crap!

So after two years of blogging I’m going to test the power of social media. Today I’ve decided to take my maiden voyage into book promotion land. I’m going to set up residence in the vicinity of the Philadelphia Marathon Expo and hawk Twenty-four Years to Boston.

My book wasn’t published until last month and it was too late to get into the expo, so I’m winging it, ideally inside. I’ll be the sixtyish-looking guy with a beard and a surprised expression on my face. Admittedly, I have prior experience from selling soft pretzels on a street corner when I was in high school.

I’m about to post notice that I’ll be hawking Twenty-four Years to Boston at the Philadelphia Marathon Expo on Facebook and Twitter. I’m not sure what that means. Will it translate to a sale? Two sales? One hundred sales? An arrest? I can just imagine my kids reading this post, and in their best Bevis and Butthead impersonation saying, “Hee, hee, Dad Tweeted.”

So come look for me, say hi. Tell me a story. I’ll even sign your book.

About Jim Brennan

Jim writes from Bucks County, PA. and runs most places his travels take him.
This entry was posted in 24 Years to Boston, Marathon, Running, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Maiden Voyage Into Book Promotion

  1. PaulSmuts says:

    Good luck with all the social media marketing. You’ll get the hang of it in no time!

  2. Joey says:

    How much for you to ship me a copy? I’d love to give it a read

    • Jim Brennan says:

      Joey, depends on where you live. My email is at the contact link to Rite2Run if you went to send me your address, or you can order the book on Amazon.com. Thanks, and I’d love to hear your feedback when you are done the book.

Leave a Reply

