Philadelphia Story – Don’t Judge This Book By It’s Cover

“It’s better to be looked over than overlooked.” – Mea WestMade in America

Everything we do in life is a learning experience, good or bad, successful or unsuccessful. Read the lives of great men and women who have contributed art, science or entertainment to society and learn that they too encountered many failures the on the way to their greatest works.

LOVE sculpture by Robert Indiana in Love Park (officially JFK Plaza) at the foot of Benjamin Franklin Parkway.

LOVE sculpture by Robert Indiana in Love Park (officially JFK Plaza) at the foot of Benjamin Franklin Parkway.

Since publishing Twenty-four Years to Boston I’ve learned that the title of my Philadelphia story has no connection with the great city I call home. From my blue-collar roots growing up in a row house neighborhood, to working at a shipyard on the South Philly waterfront, to the running trails of Fairmount and Pennypack Parks to local races like the Broad Street Run and the Philadelphia Marathon, the title is mute. It wasn’t until I took my book to the Philadelphia Marathon expo and people commented about the photo on the cover and the title that it hit me. I had to explain that Twenty-four Years to Boston is a Philadelphia story that just happens to end at the Boston Marathon.

Boathouse Row on Kelly Drive

Boathouse Row on Kelly Drive

Live and learn. Hindsight is 20/20. In retrospect, I could have titled the book something like From Broad Street to Boylston Street, or City of Brotherly Love to Beantown. Or the cover could have been a shot at the Broad Street Run with Billy Penn sitting atop City Hall in the background.

As they say, water under the bridge. Philly is a great city, and there is no race like the Boston Marathon.Finish Line_0001

About Jim Brennan

Jim writes from Bucks County, PA. and runs most places his travels take him.
This entry was posted in 24 Years to Boston, Health, Marathon, Running, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Philadelphia Story – Don’t Judge This Book By It’s Cover

  1. LB says:

    Oh how interesting … perhaps because I have been following your blog, but the title made perfect sense to me. It took you 24 years to GET to the Boston Marathon.
    I only got a few pages into the book when I had to jump to this months’s bookgroup selection, but I look forward to reading about Philadelphia.

Comments are closed.