And A Healthy New Year to You!

This past year was one of many first–my first triathlon, first book published, and first injury in four years. I was on a pretty good roll since my two knee surgeries in 2009, until I fell on the ice two weeks ago. Everything has come to a screeching halt. It’s impossible for me to describe how hard it is for me to sit still.

Four days ago I was optimistic that I’d still line up for my first 50K on January 4th, 2014. I’ve been doing exercises recommended by a physical therapist, massaging the injured area with a hard ball, and resting. I went out on a limb and said that I’d write my way to health, which to this point hasn’t paid dividends. It’s been difficult finding time to write during the holidays, but I make no excuses. I’ll decide if I will run the race on New Years Day.

The thing that’s helped the most are the comments from readers wishing me a speedy recovery and good health. I’m inspired by the people who stop by my blog, more than 200 followers, and now more than 17,000 viewers, many of whom take the time to share their feelings, advice and wish me well. I am truly moved, and grateful. Thank you all!

In return I’ll work hard on each post to provide you with something worthwhile, or at least entertaining. When I set out in April 2011, I said this wasn’t going to be a typical running blog. I rarely write a race recap and do very few gear reviews, but I do impart lessons I’ve learned in my more than forty years on the trails. I may be a lifelong runner, marathoner, and now triathlete, but I am a writer and my interests span from the health spectrum into the arts. I posted my fifteenth Art of Running article two weeks ago, and will end this blog with a photo I took this morning on 11th Street in downtown Philly, my city. It was still a little dark at 6:00 a.m., but I swear I saw it.Dream Sign

About Jim Brennan

Jim writes from Bucks County, PA. and runs most places his travels take him.
This entry was posted in Health, Marathon, Running, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to And A Healthy New Year to You!

  1. Good luck my friend. I would err on the side of caution New Year’s day. It’s always better to live and run another day. If the big guys can drop out of Olympic marathons, than we mear mortals can certainly DNS. I know it’s hard to do.

  2. You’re welcome, and thanks to you as well. I’m so thankful for this new computer and am enjoying reading your blog again. I’m not sure why I never did feel the love with the ipad. Longing for a good keyboard I guess. Do take care – is swimming an option? And your book?! Is it on the shelves somewhere? congrats! take care,Kate

    • Jim Brennan says:

      Hi Kate, I think the keyboard is a generational thing. I need it like I need to feel the pages of a good book. My grandkids, four and six-year-olds, already have iPads. They likely won’t know what a keyboard is by the time they are in college. Swimming is an option, and one I’ll be looking at real soon. The book is on Amazon, and indie bookstores in New England, New Jersey and Pennsylvania. It’s getting out there slowly but surely. Get your copy now, before it becomes an movie with Bradley Cooper staring me (yeah, that’ll happen!) Happy New Year, Kate!

Leave a Reply

