Bookshelf #Shelfies

Jim Brennan:

Fellow runner, writer and blogger, Susan Edelman, has paid me the ultimate compliment. She wrote a wonderful post about #Shelfies, a term she picked up about taking a picture of your bookshelf instead of YOURself, and my memoir, Twenty-four Years to Boston, is one of the books on her shelf. Wow! I’m blushing. I’d gone back and forth with Susan on several occasions about running, injuries and writing, and am humbled that she would include my book on her shelf along with Hemingway, Steinbeck and Cormac McCarthy, all of whom I’m not deserving to even sharpen their pencil. Check out Susan’s blog at http://watchhatchfly.com/2014/01/16/bookshelf-shelfies/ and scroll down toward the bottom to see my memoir sitting among the literary icons. Thank you, Susan!

Originally posted on watch hatch fly:

When I began this blog, I intended to write more about books, because I read a lot, and I wanted to share my reading adventures. Yes, exciting adventures! Here’s how my reading adventure ALWAYS goes:

  • Mood to read strikes.
  • Dogs pick up my “Mood to read” with their canine senses.
  • I hunt around for my glasses and my Kindle, two dogs hot on my heels.
  • Here’s our shared concern: We all want “the good spot” on the couch.
  • (It’s a contest!)
  • We exchange eye contact.
  • No one moves until I signal with the first step toward the couch.
  • The three of us hurl ourselves onto the sofa simultaneously.
  • If I wind up on the bottom of the dog pile, I win!!
  • (Often I don’t win.)

View original 697 more words

About Jim Brennan

Jim writes from Bucks County, PA. and runs most places his travels take him.
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bookshelf #Shelfies

  1. Sophie33 says:

    Good for you, Jim! Second timle around! ;) Yeahhh! I also love Susan’s blog a lot, just that I like yours! ;)

  2. Move over Hemingway and Steinbeck!
    …Wait. They’re dead.
    Move over McCarthy, here comes Brennan!!
    Thanks for the re-blog! Yours was an interesting journey to Boston, one many would not (and could not) take. I am honored to have the book on my shelf.

Leave a Reply

