Running Memoir on Display at the American Library Association

“I’m just a guppy in the ocean, but man do I love to swim.” – jb

Twenty-four Years to Boston on the shelf at American Library Association Conference.

Twenty-four Years to Boston on the shelf at American Library Association Conference.

It’s been more than thirteen years since I began scribbling notes about training for my second marathon twenty years after I’d run my first. I hadn’t planned those notes to one day become Twenty-four Years to Boston, and I never dreamed I would ever write a book that would appear on a shelf at the American Library Association (ALA) Conference. To be truthful, I didn’t know what the ALA was until this weekend.

I was encouraged to go to the conference by my publisher at St. Johann Press. As a first-time author, the ALA convention was like lining up for my first marathon. I wasn’t nervous, but I didn’t know what to expect. Unlike my first marathon, when the conference was over I knew I wouldn’t wait twenty years to go to my second.

Spending two days talking with publishers, authors and book reviewers who assembled in one place was an entire new experience for me.  I couldn’t help thinking back to the days I worked in a dry dock in the middle of January welding the hull of a 60,000-ton ship. What a surreal journey it’s been.

Recently, a reader commented that she was intimidated to register for her first race. I told her to remember it’s only running, something we’ve all been doing since we let go of the coffee table as toddlers. We all wobbled a little, even fell, but then we got up and never look back.

I felt the same way walking into the Philadelphia Convention Center for the ALA Conference, and now I can’t wait until the next one. You don’t grow unless you take those first crucial steps outside of your comfort zone.

About Jim Brennan

Jim writes from Bucks County, PA. and runs most places his travels take him.
This entry was posted in 24 Years to Boston, Marathon, Running, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Running Memoir on Display at the American Library Association

  1. Sophie33 says:

    What a great win-win situation for you, dear Jim! Well-done you! Waw!!!

  2. LB says:

    Sounds like a great weekend at the conference, surrounded by other writers and readers. So glad for you, Jim.
    And by the way … in the photo … the book next to yours … why DO cows need names :-)

  3. It’s great reading about your journey.

  4. That’s fantastic Jim, congratulations! What an achievement. Your journey has been long and full of passion, and it’s wonderful that you decided to share it in the form of your book. It’s so well deserved that your book is now receiving this recognition – I’m so happy for you! Are you up and running again by the way? I really hope you are better!

    • Jim Brennan says:

      Thanks, Fullmoonrunner. I loved that downhill race you wrote about this weekend. So cool! I’m going to test the hip out tomorrow morning with my running team downtown. That will be the test. Then I’ll be back to the chiropractor on Wednesday. If I’m not feeling comfortable by the end of the week, I’m going to schedule that MRI I postponed. Thanks for asking, and stay tuned.
      jim

      • Oh best of luck! I’m crossing my fingers for you that all goes well during your test run this morning – you must be getting so frustrated! However, you are handling the situation so sensibly and so well; as always, you’re a real inspiration! That downhill race was absolutely wicked. I’m waiting for pictures. Words can’t describe the insanity of the descend!

        • Jim Brennan says:

          Morning run went well, Fullmoonrunner, two slow miles and feeling mildly optimistic. I’ll get out once or twice again this week. More to come. The one photo of the downhill race you posted was a scream. Look forward to more. Jim

Leave a Reply

