Baby Steps to Rehab

Six weeks ago I went down on the ice, and four days later I posted Life Without Running–A Word About Running in the Snow. I didn’t realize how obsessed I was with the injury until I went back to read that post and saw that I’d written seven injury-related posts since–forced downtime, having a healthy new year, limping into 2014, being down but not out, my first Did Not Start (DNS,) aerobic exercise, the eternity of four weeks without running, and finally, mending. Enough already!!!

I broke a six-week layoff the other day with a really slow two-mile run, a long way from the 50K I registered for and had to abandon in early January. I’m already feeling optimistic. The hard part now will be not to get over-anxious and reinjure myself. Time to practice what I preach–moderate and listen to your body.

I’ve added squats and stair climbing with weights to my yoga routine. Unfortunately, it’s not cycling weather in the northeast, unless you have really wide tires with extra-long spikes. Now there’s an idea!

I do have experience in the rehab department. After my second knee surgery in 2009, I was too quick to get back running and wound up having a second surgery within a year. More recently I’m reminded by fellow-blogger and cyclist Aaron who has been through a vexing seventeen-month ordeal of his own. After more than a year of doctors and remedies and what he thought would be recovery, he goes into surgery in a few days for a hip injury. Imagine his frustration! You can read about Aaron’s odyssey, and about cycling in general, at SteepClimbs.

With all of this fresh in mind, I’m going to take Bill Murray’s advice in What About Bob and practice Baby Steps.

About Jim Brennan

Jim writes from Bucks County, PA. and runs most places his travels take him.
This entry was posted in Health, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Baby Steps to Rehab

  1. Sophie33 says:

    Hang in there, my beloved friend! xxx

  2. Mark Mangan says:

    You’re getting older but……just a little inspirational article, not that you need it. http://www.sbnation.com/lookit/2014/1/31/5366576/a-102-year-old-frenchman-broke-his-own-world-cycling-record
    Good Luck!

  3. Jim, I feel for you.
    I was so tempted to jump on the treadmill Tuesday to run for a mile or two. I told my self not to be an idiot and give my self the time I need.
    It is SOOOOOOOO hard to do. I see running people!

    • Jim Brennan says:

      The hardest thing to do is to NOT run. I’m conditioned to think I can run through injuries, but the older I get I’m finding my body isn’t quite as invincible as I once thought. I broke down and scheduled an MRI for next week. I have to make sure I’m not further damaging anything. So, Andy, that’s a long way of saying “easy does it.” Hang in there, my friend. Spring is right around the corner.

  4. I’m so happy for you that you are up and running again! I know it’s only a little bit at the moment, but that’s infinitely better than nothing. As always, you are so sensible about this and I’m sure that your vast experience will see you through this recovery process as well. I love the clip – it’s hitting the nail on the head. Keep moving forward, Jim (just please don’t get stuck in your own, metaphorical, elevator)!

    • Jim Brennan says:

      Ha ha. You are the first to call me sensible, Fullmoonrunner! My chiropractor told me to slow down with the running, practice even more baby steps, you know, like walk before you run, lay off the weights up and down the stairs, stuff like that. She bent me like a pretzel and then put me in traction and hooked me up to STEMS. She gave me a pilates position to practice and I was back to my yoga this morning. I can tell you it’s the best I’ve felt in six weeks. So I’m slowing down even more, walk before I run. Cycling season is right around the corning, and I see more hiking this year, but there is no doubt I’ll be running, for sure. I haven’t given up on that ultra in 2014. I’m looking forward to reading about yours. Thanks for checking in, Fullmoonrunner!
      jim

      • I honestly think that for a runner, you’re being exceptionally sensible. If it was me coming back from injury, I’d probably go out and simply resume my training from before the injury struck, only to no doubt find myself back in the doctors office within days. Then I’d have another few weeks of no running and much whining, after which I’d go and repeat the same mistake I made the first time around. Just to double check that it was definitely a mistake, you know? After all, I’m a runner, and runners have been ignoring doctors’ orders since forever. I hope you do get to run an ultra in 2014. Then we can compare injuries! ;-) All the best Jim, and keep moving forward, however slowly!

        • Jim Brennan says:

          I double checked a torn miniscus with a ten-mile beach run in 2003, so being sensible is a new experience for me. I figured I’d try it out and see how it works. And I won’t let go of that ultra idea that easily. Thanks for the picking me up, Fullmoonrunner.
          jim

  5. aaronwest says:

    Thanks, brother. My 17-months has more to do with an overcautious medical system than anything. I could have been done with this a year ago if the first doctor was confident enough to scope it. Baby steps is sage advice, which I’ll be following once I begin to recover.

Leave a Reply

