Damage & Recovery

“That which does not kill us makes us stronger.” – Friedrich NietzscheDamage

It’s been eight weeks since my last run, the longest absence from the activity that has driven me since childhood. Running has balanced me, relieved my stress and kept me fit for fifty-nine years. Being immersed in sweat is a magical state I seek to sort out my life, and it’s hard living without.

I’ve been going to physical therapy, and getting deep body massage and chiropractic manipulation. Still an annoying pain in my groin and hip region persist. Sometimes it feels like the pain travels to my backside. Weirdest injury I’ve ever had.

I finally had an MRI last week. Contrary to what the orthopedic surgeon thought, I have no tear of any muscles. That’s the good news. But the imaging report indicates there is significant bone marrow edema, or swelling (I had to look up the word edema.) I go back to the ortho doc next week. In the mean time, I’ll walk, do my yoga and exercise, but still no running.

This damage to my body is insignificant compared to damage others suffer daily–physical, emotional and spiritual. Without going into excruciating details of my personal life, I have a close friend fighting the battle of his life with cancer–we’ve been buddies for more than forty years–and people close to me are suffering through terrible personal pain. Reality teaches perspective. A self-inflicted hip injury is insignificant.

They say what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger. I believe that. Share yourself with others–friends, family members, folks you meet on the street. It will make a difference in their lives, help them heal, and make you whole.

Philadelphia favorite Rocky Balboa in front of the Art Museum.

Philadelphia favorite Rocky Balboa in front of the Art Museum.

About Jim Brennan

Jim writes from Bucks County, PA. and runs most places his travels take him.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Damage & Recovery

  1. Sophie33 says:

    What Nietzsche said, is so true,….hang in there, my beloved friend! I Will be thinking of you. 😉

  2. LB says:

    Thank you for your message to share ourselves and thereby help others.
    My thoughts are with your friend and with you as you support him in the battle of his life.

  3. runner500 says:

    At least you now know what it is and you should be able to get a plan in place for getting your running shoes back on. You’ll enjoy it that much more when you get back running again,although as we get older the recovery starts to take a bit longer than it did in our 30s. Good luck.

  4. Mark Mangan says:

    Glad to hear no muscle tear, If I recall the surgeon wanted to operate (good decision on your part to hold off and try other rehab methods). You’ll be back by the spring and anyway you don’t want to be running in all this snow.
    OBTW – I like the juxtaposition in the two photos (one represents the brutal winter…is the B on the mailbox for Brennan?…..and the other shows a beautiful spring/summer day by the museum…sunny, green grass, trees in bloom, etc.) Things are looking up!

    Good Luck!

    • Jim Brennan says:

      Ironically, it was the snow and ice that led to the fall that caused the injury. Yes with the mailbox, and I didn’t notice the juxtaposition until you mentioned it. Thanks, Mark!
      jim

  5. Oh Jim, what a beautiful post! I completely agree with your sentiment – we should be grateful for what we have, rather than be so quick to complain about what we don’t have. I’m so sorry to hear about your friend too, I hope he will make a full recovery. I lost a good friend to cancer last year, it was terribly sudden and a real wake-up call for me to make the most of my life. Still, you must be getting so frustrated not being able to run…! At least you have a diagnosis now; hopefully this will be translated into an appropriate recovery plan for you. All the best, and heads up.

  6. Jim. Perspective is important, indeed. This week, I lost a friend of 15 years, who died suddenly after falling off his front porch at his home, while changing a porch light. Mid 60′s, full of piss and vinegar. Imagine the cruelty in that. Such a benign activity, and Thump! “lights out.” So, one day you’ll be stronger from all of this. Strength comes in many packages, not all measured in footsteps. You won’t have to “find” the strength, it will find you. There’s a reason for this hiatus, perhaps never to be revealed.

  7. run100run says:

    id love for you to follow my running journey run100run.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

