In the Beginning

Rite2Run grew from a lifelong passion to run. Running is a primal activity that begins shortly after a toddler lets go of the coffee table and get beyond those first few steps, and then it’s off to the races. I discovered the ability to run long distances by accident during high school football camp when the coaches would send us into the woods on conditioning runs and I’d return reveling in the sensation of a soaking perspiration and healthy exertion. After graduation I began to register for 10Ks and ten-milers, and when I completed my first half-marathon I was lured to the marathon – the endurance athlete’s Holy Grail.

During my peak running years I was far short of extraordinary. I had run the Boston Marathon and placed third in my age group in the Bermuda Marathon and the Run the Rockies Half Marathon, but hold no illusion to be considered even above average. Though each of these events occurred after the age of fifty, within the running community none are particularly astonishing.

Rite2Run is also a play on words that extends from my other passion – writing. I decided to share a lifetime of running experiences I had chronicled with others who share the same passion, as well as those who had ever considered lacing up a pair of running shoes. Non-runners, those who scratch their heads when they see a runner laboring in the ninety-five degree heat, will also get a peek into the psyche of those seeming eccentrics with a propensity to push their body to exhaustion.

So come along for the ride. I’ll take you back to a time before Cliff Shots, timing chips and headset bans at races. We will travel along trails on my home turf around the Philadelphia region; and then take it on the road across the country, sometimes even going off shore. Sometimes I’ll leave the running shoes at home and merely share adventures to remarkable places. Be prepared for introspection, which is an extension of this solitary sport, as well as the lessons learned from a lifetime of running. And since running builds up a thirst, don’t be surprised if we stop at a pub for a pint of Guinness, or two.

Finally, after three knee surgeries and good bit of arthritis, I will share methods I’ve found effective to continue enjoying the freedom of running because, after all, it is a primal activity.

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in Running, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.