Balance

The theme of last week’s blog Be Active was that, “it’s not all about the running.” Running junkies (you know who you are) obsess about their daily run, and tomorrow’s run and their running schedule for the remainder of the week. I know because that was my life.

Preoccupation with running isn’t necessarily a bad thing, but like any obsession it is healthy to strike a balance. When I was training for my second marathon, I decided to register for a six-session introductory Tae Kwon Do program.  The dedication required to master the martial arts interfered with the rigors of marathon training, consequently I decided not to continue with Tae Kwon Do after I completed the program.

Nevertheless, every life experience teaches a lesson. As a runner, I’d avoided the fundamentals of stretching my entire life, but I learned rigorous stretching techniques from Tae Kwon Do that helped me become a more disciplined, focused and nimble runner. Balance is a key to being a successful runner, as well as living a healthy life.

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.