The Everyman Runner

You don’t have to be a sports fan to admire the tenacity of world-class runners in their relentless pursuit of a marathon record that pushes ever so close to the two-hour mark. Running a sub-five minute pace for 26.2 miles is mind-boggling to the avid runner, let alone the general population. Such human endurance captures the imagination the same way it did when Frank Bannister broke the four-minute mile barrier in 1954.

I’d always found myself just as fascinated by recreational runners, probably because I can relate to carpenters and welders more easily than I can with Olympians. I suppose it is the reason that the interviews in I’m A Runner on the back page of Runner’s World interest me more than the stories about the world-class runners inside the magazine. Cooks, artists, radio hosts, musicians, and comedians chose running as an avocation, and in every case they claim running helps them perform their vocation better.

These stories are assurance that most runners juggle work, family and other commitments to squeeze in a workout. They train early in the morning or late in the evening and are a reminder that I run alongside the Everyman when I registered for a race.

If you’d like to share your Everyman runner story, post a comment on the Rite2Run blog. There is no need to be a man to be an Everyman runner. I will share selected stories on my blog about the triumphs and sacrifices everyday runners like ourselves make to embrace the sport we love.

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.