Good Reads For The Holistic Runner

A message popped up on my computer screen after I posted my last entry notifying me it was my twenty-third blog. I was shocked. It seemed like I created the blog yesterday; actually it was this past April. Two years ago when I switched jobs to become a freelance writer, I barely knew what a blog was.

It’s unlikely I ever would have counted how many blogs I’d written, but this new information got me thinking. If I’d spent, say, one hour creating each one, than I’d invested a day of my life in this tiny corner of the cyber world. After an investment of such magnitude, I figured I ought to review what I’d written.

According to number of hits, my three most viewed blogs were:

  1. 1.      A Practical Approach For First-Time Marathoners
  2. 2.      My Sometimes Aching Knees
  3. 3.      Back In The Game

Though the ranking makes perfect sense, my three favorites are completely different. I suppose it’s the writer in me that leans toward the contemplative narrative. My top three picks are:

  1. 1.      Required Reading For Distance Runners
  2. 2.      The Everyman Runner
  3. 3.      The Thinking Man’s Runner

I’d be a lousy critic. When I researched for the blog Books That Speak To The Heart Of The Runner, I was surprised that my top selection, What I Talk About When I Talk About Running, didn’t make any other list of running books I found. My tastes are, admittedly, different. But that’s not a bad thing.

So what’s my point? Apparently, runners read articles for information they can use to improve their running. I believe it is just as important for distance runners to read material that will help them understand what makes them tick. Books That Speak To The Heart Of The Runner is a review of books that complement technical running advice with material that appeals to a runner’s mind. The combination will potentially produce a more holistic runner.

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in Running, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.