Groundhog Day Run

Do you ever wake up for a morning run and feel like Bill Murray in Groundhog Day?

If you are a dedicated runner, it’s likely you had woken many a dark morning, looked at the clock, frowned at your running shoes and felt like Bill Murray in Groundhog Day. I know I have. As a lifelong runner, I feel that I am living proof of the saying, “The more things change, the more they remain the same.”

I’ve been strapping rubber to the bottom of my feet for decades and, though many things in my life have changed, I’m still performing the same routine of plodding one foot in front of the other. I can remember running in Converse “Chuck” Taylor’s over knee-high sweat socks and smoking a cigar (kids, don’t try this at home) for a run with my brother and his buddy. Today my children have all completed races with me, and my grandson completed his first 5K, and he is only four.

There is always a reward at the end of a run, just like in the movie.

I’ve learned that the only barrier to lacing up those shoes and going for a run is in your head. The payoff begins ten minutes after you start when your stride settles into a cadence that brings a smile to your face and your breathing pants to a rhythmic beat. Never mind that it might be five degrees outside or that snow covers the ground—it’s just another day on the trail.

In the end, it’s all good. Just like in the movie when the time loop was broken and Phil (Murray) wound up with Rita (Andie MacDowell). So get out there and go for it!

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in Health, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.