Everyday-runner Memoir

“Better to pass boldly into that other world, in the full glory of some passion, than fade and wither dismally with age.” – James Joyce

This is the forty-fifth entry I’ve posted to this blog, and I am dedicating it to my yet-to-be-published memoir about the marathon, “Twenty-four Years to Boston—My Journey from the Vegetable Aisle to Boylston Street.”

Today I updated the Chapter Summary link to include Chapter Seventeen that describes the training plan I created to qualify for the Boston Marathon—the plan I described in KISS. I began posting the chapter summaries seventeen weeks ago, one each week, with the optimistic (perhaps over-optimistic) goal that I’d get an offer from an agent or publisher by the time I post the epilogue, which will be nine weeks from now.  I hadn’t landed an offer in the first seventeen weeks, but with your help the chances of meeting my goal in the next nine weeks will increase.

What you can do is this: If you like what you read on this blog and in the chapter summaries, share it with friends, family, relatives, co-workers or the guy sitting next to you on the subway streaming music from his iPhone. Tell them that Rite2Run is a place they will find running stories written by an everyday runner who talks their language. They will be treated to unconventional material about running without being assaulted with so much technical detail that they’d think they were reading a manual on how to split an atom.

The publishing industry has become increasingly competitive and publishers are interested in writers with a platform and a following. Publishers take a risk with a new author by investing their resources on an unproven commodity. A writer with a large following is a lower risk because they will likely sell more books than a writer with a small or no following at all.

The more readers who follow this blog, the smoother the ride will be to publication. If you click the FOLLOW button on the right side of this blog you will receive an email notice when I post an entry. Don’t worry about getting a barrage of emails, because I only post once each week.

Finally, feel free to comment on this blog. Your comments and suggestions will help make it a better read for everyday runners like ourselves.

 

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in 24 Years to Boston, Health, Marathon, Running, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.