Hitting Stride at Fifty

“Life is like a bicycle. To keep your balance you have to keep moving.”

        Albert Einstein

I’m not an academic, so it is much easier for me to relate to Einstein’s theory about life then it is to his theory about relativity. Less than one year ago, I knew essentially nothing about blogging, yet today marks my fiftieth post on Rite2Run. A weekly blog maintains a certain balance in my writing life, and in an indirect way it helps my running.

Movement is the magic formula not only for runners and cyclists, but for writers, artists, tradesmen, businessmen/women and other professionals. Move forward to maintain balance—stop and you fall over.

Delaware Canal in Bucks County, Pennsylvania

A fiftieth blog is a milestone. Whenever I hit a milestone I feel compelled to celebrate with a run. I’ll always remember my fiftieth birthday because I celebrated with a thirteen-mile run along the Delaware Canal. Though it was seven years ago, I remember running along the canal that clear July afternoon like it was yesterday.

There is another milestone quickly approaching in my life. On May 7th I will celebrate my thirty-fifth wedding anniversary. Some people wonder how one woman put up with me for so long—truthfully, I wonder myself.

Bright Angel Trail, South Rim of the Grand Canyon, Arizona.

For my thirty-fifth wedding anniversary I will run the Bright Angel Trail into the Grand Canyon, a 12.2-mile out-and-back with a trailhead at 6,785 feet above sea level. The last time I ran at such altitude was in 2006 at the Run the Rockies Half-Marathon in Frisco, Colorado. I don’t intend to set any records, but I will remember what I did on my thirty-fifth wedding anniversary for sure. If you’d care to join me, just comment on the blog and I’ll let you know what time I’ll be at the trailhead.

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in Health, Running, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hitting Stride at Fifty

  1. Love to join you! Will you pay airfare?

    Like

    • Jim Brennan says:

      Ha, ha… If a publisher buys my story, you will be the first on the list for a ticket to the canyon. My wife would be thrilled to spend our thirty-fifth wedding anniversary with an ultramarathoner from MA. Either way, I’ll post pictures… jim

      Like

Comments are closed.