The Art of Running, Part II – Forever Young

“I am an artist at living, and my work of art is my life.” Suzuki, Japanese philosopher

“Running is the runner’s work of art.” – George Sheehan, running guru

Forever Young by Italian photographer Francesco Romoli

 

It’s no secret that I’ve been at this running thing for a long time. Okay, okay, I’ve been at it for decades. There are days my knees ache a little in the morning, and days it takes a little longer to straighten up than it used to. And then, there are days when I have to force myself out the door for a run. But the fire still burns because I know how I’ll feel when I’m done. I’ll feel refreshed, with a smile on my face and a glimmer in my eye.

This past summer, a photograph by Italian photographer Francesco Romoli caught my attention. Romoli titled his picture Forever Young, which I found fitting because the image captures the spirit of aging youth. The image is that of an elderly woman who cast the shadow of a ballerina. It could just as easily be an elderly man casting the shadow of a runner. When I saw the picture I thought, That’s me! or any one of the many guys and gals from my generation who, when I pass them along the trail, have that familiar glimmer in their eye.

Now when I’m on the trail, running through the countryside or downtown Philly, I envision Romoli’s picture, only instead of the elderly woman it is me walking down the street, and I am free, happy, and young once again.

 

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in Art of Running, Running, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Art of Running, Part II – Forever Young

  1. Love it. I agree with Chuck.

    Like

  2. p.s. when is your marathon? one more race here and I’m ready to worry about someone else for a while as we enter baskeball season.

    Like

    • Jim Brennan says:

      Hi Katherine, my next marathon is November 18th. I’m thankful because I thought I’d run my last marathon four years ago, but my knees have been treating me much better lately. It’s mostly on a trail along the Delaware Canal in Bucks County, PA, a beautiful course on a soft surface. I’ve been training with the wonderful people at Back on My Feet who inspire me tremendously. Congratulations on your running this year, and enjoy basketball season.

      Like

  3. http://iusedtohavehair.com/2012/10/15/pride-and-inspiration/#comment-9859 I think you’d love this guy’s story Jim…he and his someday soon 2nd wife and family have been “working out” long distance…son Will is dropping times…hubs is dropping time and pounds (keep him in mind…one more meet this week and his team may make state)…I still think you people are nutty, but I do appreciate!

    Like

  4. Noah Matthews says:

    Thanks for sharing this. Made me smile.

    Like

Comments are closed.