The Art of Running, Part III – Cityscape

I should be watching for motorists, high curbs and cracks in the pavement when I’m out for my early Monday morning run, but the murals of Philadelphia always capture my attention. If I wind up flat on my face or on the hood of a car, at least I’ll have visions of the art that revitalize the city’s neighborhoods.

Come along for a run and see a sample of the work of the Philadelphia Mural Arts Program:

Little girls holding hands on Ridge Avenue near 21st Street.

Ridge Avenue near 26th Street.

Cool Brewerytown mural at 25th Street and North College Avenue.

Can’t get enough of the kids. Playground at 22nd and Cecil B. Moore Avenue.

Festival at 15th and Parrish Streets.

Mural of Edgar Allan Poe across the street from the National Historic Site at 7th and Green Streets.

Joining hands on Ridge Avenue near North College Avenue

Lighting was poor when I shot this in the wee hours. The mosiac says, “Ridge on the Rise,” at Ridge Avenue and Jefferson Street.

And no collection of murals and mosiacs of Philly is complete without one of South Street, “The Sexiest Street in Town.”

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in Art of Running, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Art of Running, Part III – Cityscape

  1. In our town, we have commissioned artists to paint large murals (beautiful, I might add) on our buildings. Collectively, they tell the story of our Central Valley roots. I’m stealing your idea, and I’m going to take pictures of these murals along my own running route. Watch for this, in a future post. šŸ™‚

    Like

Comments are closed.