Not Your Typical Running Blog

“You can’t leave footprints on the sands of time if you’re sitting on your butt–and who wants to leave butt prints on the sands of time? – Bob MoawadQuill-Pen Mini

Puff! 365 days—where did 2012 go? Zap!—another year in the books. History. I created Rite2Run in 2011, exactly 101 posts ago. Since then I’ve learned what every blogger comes to realize—it is a commitment to maintain a blog. Recently I began to wonder whether the time spent maintaining a blog is worth it. After all, time blogging is time not doing something else. It all boils down to your purpose for blogging: to promote a book, as a means of income, or just the pleasure of sharing your thoughts, ideas and expertise.

When I began this blog I knew very little about publishing. Every piece of advice I came across said to begin a blog and build a following if you want to publish a book. Share your story with readers. I had planned to publish my memoir based on the marathon, Twenty-four Years to Boston, and created Rite2Run as the platform. As it turned out, the blog didn’t play a role in the contract I signed with a small New Jersey publisher, but I did learn a lot about social media and publishing, and I met many wonderful writers and readers. Sneaker - Sunny

Funny thing about blogging is that it’s kind of a mystery what will be popular and what will go largely unnoticed. Sometimes you feel it; sometimes you don’t. I’d spent a good deal of time on some posts that didn’t get much attention, and others I’ve thrown together and they instantly got hundreds of views.

Last summer I wrote a blog titled, “Write to Run A Marathon” which has been the most consistently viewed post since. I believe it was popular because it was honest. I admitted that my blog is not a typical running blog. There is no calendar of races, training logs, or herculean achievements. Instead, I write and ramble and share over forty years of running experience. I describe my feelings about the psychology of running, races, marathons, training and aging and running. I’m as likely to write about traveling and art as I am about distance running and marathoning. This year I started a series I call “The Art of Running” which features art that is running-themed, and though my definition of running-themed is very broad it has been popular.

“Forever Young” by photographer Francesco Romoli from Italy. The photo's spirit of aging youth immediately captured my imagination and I thought of all runners who stick with the sport through the aging process.

“Forever Young” by photographer Francesco Romoli from Italy. The photo’s spirit of aging youth immediately captured my imagination and I thought of all runners who stick with the sport through the aging process.

 

This year will be a transitional year for the blog. I will concentrate on the craft of writing, which is the reason I began it to begin with. You see, I’m a writer who just happens to be a lifelong runner. Running has been the one consistent thread in my life that has kept me grounded, reduced my stress, and helped keep my aging body in relatively good condition.

I’ll end my New Year’s post with the things I am thankful for:

First, I’m thankful for my family and friends. Without them my life would be pretty empty.

I’m thankful for good health that enables me to live an active life.

I’m thankful for my fellow-runners at Back on My Feet. Since last July I’ve started my week at 5:30 Monday morning with runners who inspire me, share their lives with me and teach me things about life, courage and resiliency that I never knew.

I’m thankful for my readers, more than 8,000 of you who have stopped by to read, comment, and keep me straight.

I am thankful for my fellow-writers. They teach me, guide me, critique my work, enrich my life and fill my empty head with creative ideas.

I wish all of you a healthy and prosperous 2013.  Quill & Hand

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in 24 Years to Boston, Health, Running, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Not Your Typical Running Blog

  1. LB says:

    I don’t think I would be interested in reading a “typical running blog” (not sure what one even is, given that I am not a runner), but I happened upon your blog through a comment you made and like your writing. I look forward to reading more!

    Like

    • Jim Brennan says:

      Well I’m glad you stopped by and took a moment to comment. I liked your year in review in pictures on “life on the bike.” Running is simply my outlet, but one that’s been with me my entire life. It’s kept me grounded, helped keep my stress under control and somewhat sane. As a writer, I find that I am most clarivoyant and most creative while immersed in sweat. Many stories have emerged in my elisive mind while on the trail and the log jam of writer’s block has loosened in the middle of an hour run. I don’t think it’s any different than people who find creativity while riding country roads on a motorcycle (I speak from experience), hiking, mountain climbing, painting, playing an instrument or simply walking through the woods. This year I plan to move from running into more creative ventures and will launch a website with my writings, essays and short stories and more. Thanks again for stopping by.

      Like

  2. Thank you again for your support Jim. Prayers, Kate

    Like

Comments are closed.