The Askew Running Shoe Review

“What delights us in visible beauty is the invisible.” – Marie von Ebner-Eschenbach

or

“Your trash is my cash.” – AnonymousAsics aWatch out Runner’s World, I am breaking new ground with my first product review. Since it’s my first, I will review my favorite running shoe of all time, the Asics Gel Nimbus. As hard as it might be to believe by the picture above, I’ve had these running shoes for nine years–talk about durable!

Asics bI initially bought the shoes to run in, however they turned out to be the perfect multi-purpose shoe. The Gel Nimbus has performed splendidly for gardening, painting, wrestling with my kids, cleaning up my Golden Retriever’s droppings in the yard, trimming trees, dancing, hiding from my grandkids, traveling and fishing, not to mention I’ve probably drained one hundred Guinnesses in them, and countless IPAs and lagers.

Asics cMost of all though, the reason I still have these shoes nine years after I first slipped them on my feet is because of their sentimental value. I ran the 2005 Boston Marathon in them. They survived the first five years in relatively good condition, but eventually I wore them to do some housework, and then some yard work, then some gardening… well, you get the picture.

I have no idea how many pairs of running shoes I’ve gone through in my forty-plus years of running, but the Gel Nimbus are the only ones I refuse to throw away. I may even add them to the things I want planted with me when I do my final curtain call, along with a copy of Cannery Row and a Guinness.

The finish line at the 109th Boston Marathon on Boylston Street in 2005.

The finish line at the 109th Boston Marathon on Boylston Street in 2005.

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Askew Running Shoe Review

  1. Sophie33 says:

    hahahahahahhaha!

    Like

  2. drmikebda says:

    Dear Jim, There are only a few things in life that have such value and feeling attached to them.

    Like

  3. zinnrunning says:

    I love this!!!!

    Like

Comments are closed.