Forever Connected

It’s been more than twenty-four hours since the first phone call, my ninety year old mother, followed by my daughter-in-law, wife, sister… and then the calls were drowned out by texts from family, friends, people I hadn’t heard from in I can’t remember how long. Next were a flood of emails, from fellow-runners, people I’d forgotten.

Am I forever connected? I wondered.

It’s been eight years since I ran the Boston Marathon. I’ve known ever since what running from Hopkinton to Boylston Street meant to me, but yesterday I realized what it meant to everyone I know.

After I ran Boston in 2005, I wrote that the finish line on Boylston Street was hallowed ground. It wasn’t when I crossed it in 2005. It is now. I saw the innocent face of eight-year old Martin Richard tonight, and now I know that I’ll be connected forever.

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Forever Connected

  1. msmidt says:

    That’s funny, Jim, because my experience this week was similar. I’m not fast enough to qualify for Boston, though it hasn’t been for a lack of trying. Despite this, I had numerous calls, texts and e-mails from friends and acquaintances saying they hoped I wasn’t in harm’s way. Obviously to the uninitiated, if you love to run, you are supposed to be in Boston. I told friends this is the first time I was glad that I am too slow to qualify. Prayers and positive thoughts to those lucky enough to be in Boston.

    Like

    • Jim Brennan says:

      I’m with you all the way, as is the entire running family. A young woman in my writers group told me a similar story tonight, that her mom called her as soon as she heard the news. We are all linked by our unexplainable passion to plod one foot in front of the other.

      Like

Comments are closed.