How A Hard Rocker Inspired A Story About Running

I’m on my knees, I’m praying for a sign, Forever, whenever, I never wanna die

– Foo Fighters

When I’m around people my own age and get on a Dave Groul kick, I usually get funny looks, like I should be listening to something more tame, controlled. Don’t get me wrong, The Boss is still the man, Mick rules, and Dylan is eternal. But when I need energy, like mile twenty-three in a marathon energy, I gotta blast the Foo.

So I was thinking of lead singer Dave Groul when I wrote I Died Today in the Middle of a Two-hour Run that appeared in Every Day Fiction. The young officer in the story pulled the iPod buds from my ears and heard the chorus from Walk:

I never wanna die

I never wanna die

I’m on my knees, I never wanna die

I’m dancing on my grave

I’m running through the fire

Forever, whenever

I never wanna die

The lyrics didn’t survive the editing process, and the irony was lost to anyone not familiar with the song. The older cop and farmer in the story didn’t have a clue what the young officer was talking about, and I found out later that many readers didn’t get it either.

If you care to read I Died Today in the Middle of a Two-hour Run you will now know the answer to the riddle as I lay dead on the side of the road.

Dave Grohl - huge on talent, voice of thunder, and all energy.

Dave Grohl – huge on talent, voice of thunder, and all energy.

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in Health, Running, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to How A Hard Rocker Inspired A Story About Running

  1. LB says:

    I’m glad you included the link to the story … the farmer, the cop, and Daisy the lamb in particular but also that you included what you told your family to do when you pass on.

    Like

  2. Sophie33 says:

    This is all so true, Jim! People think because I have chronic pain & I am 37 , I have to listen to classical music to easy my pain. I also love, love the foo fighters & saw them last year on a big Belgian festival! I also love metal, hip hop, jazz, r&b, but no house & tecno music! 🙂 Ha!

    Like

Comments are closed.