The Art of Running, Part XII – Running With Papa

“An intelligent man is sometimes forced to be drunk so he can spend time with his fools.” – Ernst HemingwayHemingway

Fifty-two years ago today, an American luminary who changed the literary landscape died of a self-inflicted shotgun wound to the head. I was seven, too young to remember. It wasn’t until 1977 when I found the biography Papa Hemingway on a shelf inside the first house I bought that I read about his tragic final years. I am reminded of the anniversary of his death each year on July 2nd, because it is my birthday.

Ernest Hemingway Home in Key West, Florida
Ernest Hemingway Home in Key West, Florida

There’s a saying among writers, “You write who you read,” or something like that. To me, it means that the authors you read have an influence on your own writing, whether it is your genre, style, or whatever. Hemingway’s style was tight and hard, his narrative spare. It seems to me that the more I read his work, the less wordy my prose, unless I just imagine it.

 So today Papa was on my mind during my annual ritual, a long run to celebrate another year. I began the run thinking The Old Man and the Sea, and ten miles later finished with A Movable Feast.

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in Art of Running, Health, Running, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Art of Running, Part XII – Running With Papa

  1. hemingwayrun says:

    Clever people, those Hemingways.

    Like

Comments are closed.