Competitiveness – Lost & Found

“A runner runs because he has to.” – George Sheehan

Birthday card from my brother Jack on my fiftieth birthday.

Birthday card from my brother Jack on my fiftieth birthday.

There was a time I wouldn’t enter a marathon unless I felt confident I would finish in less than four hours. After I ran Boston in 2005, my desire to reach a time goal or set a PR diminished, still four hours remained my mark for a marathon. Age, three knee surgeries and a bit of osteoarthritis, forced me to rethink time goals, and then stopped me from running the marathon altogether for four years, which led to my first running article, The Untrained Marathon in 2008.

I’m not as fast as I was decades ago, or even five years ago for that matter, nevertheless not many runners pass me on my routine six-mile loop around Lake Galina in Bucks County. But yesterday I was out for a late afternoon run and a runner with a light stride passed me. From what I saw in my peripheral vision, he looked to be in my age group, a bald spot on the back of his head confirmed my assessment.

Run in the SunMy competitive genes kicked in, and I picked up my pace. I’ve been pounding the trails long enough to know the difference between the actors and the players, and this guy was a player. He was turning his feet over efficiently, his stride light and easy, the stride a runner envies. I had no misconceptions of catching him, and after about a half-mile of matching his pace he began to separate, but he did look over his shoulder more than a couple of times.

Runners - SunriseI realized that I’ve been challenging myself on some horrendous hills recently, and noticed I can maintain a pace faster than I had run in years. I’m beginning to wonder if my competitive genes are screaming to come out of retirement. I haven’t had the desire to train as I did when I qualified for Boston in 2004, or won my first two age group awards after I turned fifty, but I can’t deny that a flicker of competitiveness flashed when that runner peeked over his shoulder at me yesterday.

So what’s it all mean. We shall see.Sketch - Running Man

 

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in Health, Marathon, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Competitiveness – Lost & Found

  1. PaulSmuts says:

    Love the quote at the start of your post Jim. It’s probably the easiest and most true answer to give when someone asks you why you run. I think that competitiveness us runners have will always be there. Sometimes we lose it a bit but it’s always there.

    Like

    • Jim Brennan says:

      Hey Paul, Dr. Sheehan was the guru, for sure. I was thinking about this post on a run today, and I think the there is another factor – desire. Competitiveness has to be in your heart, it can’t be faked. But you are right, it isn’t always turned all the way up, those are the times you have to ride it out until it refreshes, and if it’s in your heart it will replenish.

      Like

Comments are closed.