We Were All Once Beginners

“Our salvation is in striving to achieve what we know we’ll never achieve.” – Ryszard KapuscinskiRace - Kids

It’s marathon season, that time of year when those eccentric plodders among us run ridiculous amounts of miles to train for an endurance event a reasonable person would consider absurd. It is also the time of year that I have to remind myself that there was a day I couldn’t run one mile, or even once around the track. That’s why I’m thankful that readers comment and ask how to get started.

In the past I’ve posted articles about how to get started as a runner, and also shared advice on how to push through the beginning of a run, inspiration and other related topics, so I thought I’d link them here for your convenience.

How to Become A Runner

The Magic of Running

Running Partners

The First Step

Required Reading for All Distance Runners

The way I like to erase trepidation and intimidation that beginners feel is to remind them that running is an activity that we’ve all been doing since we let go the coffee table as toddlers. Always remember, it’s only running!Run - Sunset Kids

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in Health, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to We Were All Once Beginners

  1. LB says:

    I love the premise that it’s just an activity we’ve all been doing since we let go of the coffee table. Excellent! I’m going to share this with a friend who has just started running~

    Like

  2. msmidt says:

    I had a friend, an aspiring runner, who commented with envy about the 1,000 miles I have logged so far this year. I reminded him that it all just started with the first mile.

    Like

Comments are closed.