14 @ 59

When you ran your first marathon during the Reagan Administration there is a tendency to lose track of many of the races in between. The medals are stuffed in a carton inside a closet somewhere in the house you moved from years ago, someone snickers at a shirt you are wearing from the 1997 Broad Street Run, and you find a picture a kid in ridiculous looking track shorts and say, “Who is that fool,” and the answer is, “You.”

So why am I excited about the Bucks County Marathon that I’ll be leaving for in half an hour? It will be about my millionth race, and my fourteenth marathon. I can’t remember being this excited about my qualifying marathon in Steamtown, or even Boston. Maybe my introspective gene is hyperactive this morning, and I have a premonition I’ll solve one of life’s great mysteries on the trail, or even my own mystery. Maybe it was the rhythm of my early morning runs, or my long run, the company.

My fan club is usually the hundreds or thousands of spectators who show up at a race to cheer their runners. But today my own fan club is coming–my wife, daughter and son. I’m excited, and I hope it’s contagious.

Never stop!

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 14 @ 59

  1. Hope you had a great run. I’ll be looking for your re-cap. So many good races in PA. I spent the past month looking at all of the marathons and halfs. Some friends of mine ran Philly this weekend. It’s just such a long drive from the Boston area.

    Like

    • Jim Brennan says:

      It was a great run, Andy. I’m not diligent with race re-caps, but I am going to post this one because it was particularly amazing. I found out about an amazing PA race called Run for the Diamonds near Penn State talking to a guy from upstate at the Philly Expo on Friday. I have a link to it on my Expo blog over the weekend. Stay well, and good job with the PA races.

      Like

  2. I hope you have a great run. I think that is one of the wonderful things about running: to be able to be continuously excited about it, even after having done it for so long.

    Like

    • Jim Brennan says:

      I agree. It gets in your blood. Regardless what other types of exercise I’ve tried over the years, gyms, cycling, kayaking, hiking, whatever, I always wind up back lacing up the running shoes.

      Like

  3. Good luck with the race! I love how you have managed to keep your passion for running alive over the years, it’s a real accomplishment and wonderful inspiration. I look forward to hearing all about how you got on – am keeping my fingers crossed for you that it’ll be a fantastic race for you.

    Like

    • Jim Brennan says:

      Thanks FullMoonRunner! I’m fortunate, and I know it. I’ve hit bumps along the way, knee surgeries and stuff, and never would have beleaved I’d still be at it at this stage of my life, so yeah, I take nothing for granted. All of the well-wishes from readers must have kicked in, because I ran the best marathon I had in years, and cut forty minutes off last years finishing time. So, Thank You!

      Like

  4. Good luck in the marathon today!

    Like

Comments are closed.