Leftovers – 2013

“If you understand, things are just as the are. If you do not understand, things are just as they are. – Zen saying

Thanksgiving is a tradition first celebrated by the Pilgrims and a tribe of Wampanoag Indians in 1621. It is a day to take inventory of all the things to be thankful for.

I am a lucky man to count family and friends as a given, and sometimes have to remind myself never to take them for granted. Pause five minutes and jot down things you are thankful for. Here is my list:

Volunteers, the streets of Philadelphia, my 91-year-old Mom, the writing profession, The Stones, the espresso bean, peace, Joanne, my beautiful, talented and exceedingly tolerant mate of thirty-seven years, reasonably priced quality cigars, the hour run, people who smile in the face of adversity, Jason & Carley, my fellow-writers, Guinness, le Tour, the inspiring people at Back on My Feet, the potato, murals, runners in their sixties and seventies who have that sparkle of youth in their eyes, the bloggers I follow, Thunder Road, art, The Blue, Running of the Bulls, Paris, the memory of my Dad, the World Cup, my running partner, Steve Martin, Jane, The Decemberists, Camino de Santiago, corn, my kids, Kevin, daring people, alternative rock, pepper jack, rain, hugs, snow, Mexican food, the memory of George Carlin, indie everything, and finally waking in the middle of the night laughing my ass off at some wild-ass dream that I can only remember remnants of, hoping the parts I forgot come true.

But nothing matters without your health. Treasure it, savor it, take good care, and whatever you do, don’t take it for granted. Be thankful.

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in Health, Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.