Art of Running, Part XV – Milestones

“The thing worthwhile is always unplanned. Any art that is a result of preconcerted plans is a dead baby.” Willa Cather, Author

“When a cow laughs, does milk come out her nose?” – Unknown

I began the Art of Running series in September 2012 with no expectations beyond the first post. This is number XV and is now included on my Menu bar. As a writer, I tend to lean toward the arts, and have used running guru George Sheehan’s quote, “Running is the runner’s work of art,” on many occasions.

So I’ll continue with the art I see on my morning runs through the streets of Philadelphia-art that includes architecture, murals, and glass.AoR - Glass WallGo GirlAoR - BrewerytownAoR - JazzAoR - Girard AveAoR - ChristAoR - Glass HeadAoR, Alt - s. st.Mural - GirlsBoxing MuralSneaker - SunnyRunner - Sketch

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in Art of Running, Running, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Art of Running, Part XV – Milestones

  1. rrearick says:

    I also took a picture of the AoR Jazz mural that you posted here as well as other gems in Philly. Walked all around the city taking photo after photo.

    Like

  2. Sophie33 says:

    There is a lot of graffiti but it looks like cool graffiti! In Belgium, most of the time it is bad ugly graffiti!

    Like

  3. LB says:

    Now that I see the name, I think you’ve photographed that some time in the past … a different angle or perspective, maybe?
    So … I just read the rest of The Accidental Runner chapter. How terrible some of those nuns were. The vegetable aisle? What a great way to motivate underachievers (how you read that as sarcasm).
    On to Epiphany …

    Like

    • Jim Brennan says:

      That is the backside of the building, the front is majestic. I’ll post it some time. I’m glad you’re liking the book. Yes, in a matter of irony, the vegetable aisle motivated me.

      Like

  4. LB says:

    Jim, the art is wonderful (I need to visit Phili), but what is that building in the second photo. I’ll bet it was quite the place in it’s hey day.
    By the way, I just started (re-started) your book and cracked up at the comment “The Sisters of Perpetual Condemnation” (that is a joke, right?)

    Like

    • Jim Brennan says:

      The building in the second picture is the majestic Divine Lorraine at Broad Street and Ridge Avenue. It is a beautiful structure that was bought by a developer and is planned to be restored. I run past it every Monday morning on my runs downtown, and I can never get enough of it. As for the Sisters of Perpetual Condemnation, that is just my juvenile attempt at humor, but the religious of the 1960s were a different breed, for sure.

      Like

Comments are closed.