Anticipation & Giving

Anticipation. So much of Christmas is anticipation–the planning, the shopping, the decorating, the cooking. But the best part of Christmas occurs during the moment. Not so much exchanging gifts as exchanging conversation, a meal, a drink, yourself. The measure of a Merry Christmas should be if at the end of the day you’ve given more of yourself than you received. Just think about how the world we live in would be if that were the measure of success for every day of our lives.

Merry Christmas!

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Anticipation & Giving

  1. Hey Jim! Well said…though getting a computer for Christmas so that I can blog again has it’s merits…I agree. Moments add up. be well! Kate

    Like

  2. Merry Christmas, Jim! I hope you had a wonderful festive time. How’s your leg, are you up and running again?

    Like

    • Jim Brennan says:

      Fullmoonrunner, you must have sensed the vibes. I’m writing a post about the injury just as you commented. The quick answer is that I’m still nursing it, but I’m not losing hope for January 4th. I’ll post later today. Thanks for asking, and Merry Christmas to you. And a healthy and prosperous New Year as well. You still have the best logo of any running blog I follow. Jim

      Like

Comments are closed.