Limping Confidently Into the New Year

Maybe, just once, someone will call me ‘Sir’ without adding, ‘You’re making a scene.’  – Homer Simpson

I’m leaning toward abandoning my first ultramarathon, a 50K, on January 4th. Not the way I planned it, but as they say, “Man plans, God laughs.” The hardest part about dealing with the decision is that my own stupidity caused the injury that sidelined me. I had already completed my long training run and should have been tapering, but instead had to go for that last run, on ice. As Homer Simpson would shout, “Doh!”

Mighty WritersRegardless the outcome, I’m looking forward to a spectacular 2014 with many exciting things on the horizon. I’m making final changes to my short story collection manuscript that I just got back from my editor, and working a follow-on book to Twenty-four Years to Boston with a theme of aging and running, or more accurately aging and being active. Naturally, I will run a marathon this year, and if I have to abandon my first ultramarathon, I will likely give it a go in 2014. And then there is my secrete project–Camino de Santiago, more commonly known to Americans as the Way of Saint James.

Santiaso de Compostela

Santiago de Compostela

I am planning to hike the Camino de Santiago in Northern Spain this spring.  I have my backpack and tent, and am accumulating the remainder of the gear I’ll need. Camino de Santiago is a 490-mile hiking trail that pilgrims have trekked for centuries. It is the most traveled route in a network of trails that stretch across Europe as far south as Rome and north to Russia. Pilgrims travel the various routes to get to Santiago de Compostela, the 12th Century Cathedral of Saint James.

I had initially planned to blog the pilgrimage, but realized if I did it would no longer be a pilgrimage. I’m still undecided on that one. Either way, I will write more about the Camino in the coming months. To view a great blog with fabulous photos of the Camino de Santiago, go to ICI & LA Nature Pictures – Caution: the photos are addicting, and you may find yourself in Northern Spain next year.

So Happy New Year to all of you, and good luck with your plans in the coming year. I wish every one of you a Happy and Healthy 2014!

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in Running, Travels, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Limping Confidently Into the New Year

  1. Those are some VERY exciting things ahead in 2014. I, for one, am excited for you!

    Like

    • Jim Brennan says:

      And I’m excited for you, Shannon. Your New Years post was awesome. You have a wonderful and refreshing way in sharing yourself with your readers and followers. I wish you good health and happiness, and all that is good in life. Have a great 2014!
      jim

      Like

Comments are closed.