Balance

“You throw an anchor into the future you want to build, and you pull yourself along by the chain.” – John O’NealBuddha Beach - Trees

The fifth most viewed post on Rite2Run is Balance on Buddha Beach, about a magical place my wife and I stumbled upon a couple of years ago in Red Rock Country–Sadona, Arizona. We were hiking along Oak Creek in the shadow of Cathedral Rock and when we rounded a bend were mesmerized by a stunning field of balanced rocks–Buddha Beach. The sight inspired me to write that post two years ago, and I find today that balance is a theme we should continually practice in our lives, especially when life seems to be spinning out of control.

Buddha Beach - FieldIt’s common to get wrapped up in life–work, social commitments, your avocation or passion. Every day we’re confronted with choices–work or play, study or exercise, chores or relax. But when you find yourself leaning to far to the side of work, study and chores and not enough toward exercise, play and relaxing, it’s time to slow down, examine your values and refocus your energy. Here are a few considerations that will help refocus your life and bring calm, happiness and wholeness:

  • Take time to examine commitments in the context of your wellbeing. Recognize the difference between commitments that are fulfilling and those that cause stress. Learn to say no!
  • Look at your job through a different lens. One specific task may skew your perception of your entire job as more stressful than it really is. Having an honest conversation with your boss or coworker can lower stress, and lead to change. Prioritize!
  • Schedule leisure time into your week the same way you would work and other commitments. I tell runners to carry their running gear with them and run before they get home from work. It makes a huge difference for both your physical and mental condition.

Buddha Beach - Oak CreekI haven’t been able to run since I fell on the ice in December, and then a personal issue interfered with writing for the past couple of months. It’s been unsettling to say the least, but also a learning experience. Now that I’m forced to pause from the two things that drive me, I’m  finding it is also refreshing.

So give it a try. Refocus your life and restore priorities that continually serve your physical and emotional wellbeing.

Rock formations at Buddha Beach on a downed tree with Cathedral Rock in the background.

Rock formations at Buddha Beach on a downed tree with Cathedral Rock in the background.

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Balance

  1. This looks like one magical place Jim and I’m so pleased it had you there so you could honor it with your heart, eyes, camera and this post. Through these images and your description, it’s definitely a place that already speaks to me and since I get to the Sedona area at least once a year on photo shoots, a place I hope to come across myself. ~ Rick

    Like

  2. LB says:

    I appreciate that you put your thoughts into simple bullet points. Finding balance, while not simple, shouldn’t require wholesale life changes, but rather some reconfiguring or as you said, determining the priority, what matters.
    Refocus and restore!
    The photos are great, too … how perfect!

    Like

    • Jim Brennan says:

      Yeah, LB, it’s not hard to get lost in the forest. Sometimes you have to come back out to see where you are. Buddha Beach was a very cool and calming place. You’d have a ball there with your camera.

      Like

  3. Awesome post, Jim! I completely agree that it’s so important to find a balance in our professional and private lives – I find that it’s best to stay busy, but without being stressed. I also completely agree that it’s important to schedule workouts and runs. As much as I’d love to just be able to run whenever I feel like it, that’s just not realistic. I have to make time for it, which sometimes requires some lateral thinking (such as going for a run before work or in my lunchbreak, etc.). In my mind, planning my runs is making space for “me-time”. It’s not selfish, it’s just something that’s important to me and a lot of my runs would not happen if I didn’t prioritise them. 🙂

    Like

  4. Sophie33 says:

    What a beautiful nature surroundings! Waw! 🙂
    Buddha Beach sounds cool! yes!

    Like

  5. It can be difficult to maintain balance. I’m not sure I’m ever truly in balance. So many things demand our time and attention that it can become easy to ignore the other important things in our lives and realize that there is more to life than work, thinking about work and getting ready to go to work.
    Running can help balance things out, but it can become all consuming at times also!

    Like

    • Jim Brennan says:

      Well it’s good that you balance work and running, but yeah life gets hectic and it take self-awareness to catch yourself from going overboard. It’s a constant reevaluation process for all of us.

      Like

Comments are closed.