Climb for Billy

“Youth has to do with spirit, not age.” – Henry Miller

A few weeks ago I mentioned that a buddy of mine was fighting lung cancer, now I’m going to put a face to the story. Billy and I go way back, like to elementary school. Billy and his wife, Marion, moved into an apartment upstairs from my wife and I after we married. We both raised kids, and are now marrying them off. In July we cycled 90 miles from Philly to Wildwood, New Jersey, and the following week he was diagnosed with Non Small Cell Lung Cancer.

Billy’s daughter is participating in the American Lung Association’s Fight for Air Climb because breathing shouldn’t be an uphill climb. I am asking for your support because…

  • Lung disease is the third leading cause of death in the U.S. and is responsible for one in seven deaths.
  • Lung cancer is the leading cause of cancer deaths in the U.S.
  • Asthma is the number one chronic disease of children.
  • COPD currently affects 10.2 million Americans.
  • Air Pollution poisons the lungs of over 60% of Americans each day.

These are the facts. The crisis is real. The American Lung Association needs your help.

Join Billy’s daughters Kristin and Blair, and wife Marion in the Fight for Air Climb on 03/29/2014 at Three Logan Square, Philadelphia. Go to www.lunginfo.org/phillyclimb.com. If you would like to join the team, you may need to create your own password or use the password “holubec”.

Kristin’s team, Holubec’s Hunnies, will be one of hundreds competing to make it to the top of the Three Logan Square in this vertical marathon. It won’t be easy, but if you are up to the challenge, breathe in, step up and get ready to experience the climb of your life. You can join Kristin’s team, but if you can’t climb, consider making a tax-deductible donation to her Fight for Air Climb team by visiting her Personal Page.

For more than 100 years, the American Lung Association has been the guardian of healthy lungs and clean air. Every dollar raised enables the American Lung Association to continue its mission to save lives by promoting lung health and preventing lung disease. Every dollar makes a difference.

I’m betting Billy will win this battle. My reason? Because he’s a brute. We hike, cycle, run, and drink Guinness together. Need I say more?

 

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Climb for Billy

  1. Sophie33 says:

    My thoughts are with your good friend, Billy, his family & you, dear Jim! xx Hugs!

    Like

  2. LB says:

    Thoughts are with Billy, his family, and with you. How incredible to have maintained a friendship for so long! I’ve been out of town and am just now seeing this post, 2 days after the climb. I hope it was a successful event!

    Like

    • Jim Brennan says:

      Thanks, LB. Yes it was a very successful event. I talked to Billy and his wife after the vertical marathon and they were very appreciative. Billy is in the battle of his life, but he’s a fighter. It puts in perspective when I complain about my hip injury. Jeez, how lucky am I? Stay well, LB!

      Like

  3. I hope for everyone involved that your friend will make a full recovery. It’s a great cause – the first two links didn’t work for me, but I’ve gladly made a donation to Kristen’s team. Please let us know how they get on with the challenge, it sounds tough!

    Like

    • Jim Brennan says:

      Thanks for the heads up with the links, Fullmoonrunner. The first one shouldn’t have been a link to begin with, and I fixed the second one. We’re all pulling for Billy to beat this dreaded thing, and we’ll climb!
      jim

      Like

  4. noahcarrxc1 says:

    He’ll be in my prayers. Best of luck to both of you and your cause and I’m sure Billy will be victorious as well

    Like

Comments are closed.