Art of Running, Part XVI – Manayunk

“When I approach a child, he inspires in me two sentiments: tenderness for what his is, and respect for what he may become.” – Louis Pasteur

Glass art mural with Manayunk arch bridge in background.

Glass art mural with Manayunk arch bridge in background.

Run, Cycle or Walk—The Best Way to Discover New Places was a tribute to the modes of travel that are conducive with discovering new places, or growing appreciation for everyday surroundings. As I rehab this vexing hip injury, I’m discovering new things in the city where I’ve lived my entire life that I missed while even running. What I’m learning is the more you slow down, the more you discover—you observe more cycling than driving, and notice even more when running. When you walk you don’t miss a thing.

Main Street Manayunk

Main Street Manayunk

This post should be titled Art of Walking, but what the hell. I continue to discover art all around the city I was born and raised, Philadelphia. Manayunk, a neighborhood along the Schyulkill River that dates back to William Penn in 1685, is a former manufacturing and textile center that is now one of the many city’s gentrified neighborhoods. It is an eclectic community where blue-collar families live side-by-side with young professionals with pubs where bus drivers and constructions workers hoist a stout with artists and entrepreneurs.

Schyulkill River Trail.

Schyulkill River Trail.

I walked the Manayunk towpath, part of the Schyulkill River Trail that stretches from center city into Chester County. Come along and see the many colorful murals, works of art and beautiful architecture.

Towpath on the way out of Manayunk.

Towpath on the way out of Manayunk.

Bridge mural.

Bridge mural.

More bridge murals.

More bridge murals.

Glass and ceramic bird art mural.

Glass and ceramic bird art mural.

Close up.

Close up.

Back on the towpath by the canal into town.

Back on the towpath by the canal into town.

Another mural and Manayunk Bridge.

Another mural and Manayunk Bridge.

Pretzel Park sculpture.

Pretzel Park sculpture.

Who can resist a peanut butter and jelly cheeseburger and beer at Lucky's Last Chance after a long walk?

Who can resist a peanut butter and jelly cheeseburger and beer at Lucky’s Last Chance after a long walk?

Runner - Sketch

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in Art of Running, Running, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Art of Running, Part XVI – Manayunk

  1. LB says:

    I’m so glad you took us along with you, Jim! Those murals are incredible! I’d love to take this walk for the murals and the towpath. Now the PB&J Cheeseburger? I’ll get the beer and you’ll have to convince me to try the burger 🙂
    Fun post!

    Like

    • Jim Brennan says:

      You’re on, LB. Well, I’m going to have a beer too, but the PB&J cheeseburger is one of those tantilizing things on a menu that you order out of curiosity, and then are pleasantly surprised it’s actually good, really good. It you ever visit Philly, write me and we’ll meet at Lucky’s.
      Jim

      Like

  2. runner500 says:

    Some great murals there; are you back running yet?

    Like

    • Jim Brennan says:

      Mostly cycling, though I did get a couple miles in the other day. Still a little tender, so I’m being cautious. I’m going to test it again tomorrow. Thanks for asking.
      Jim

      Like

  3. Beautiful photos! Thank you for sharing this.

    Like

  4. That looks like a beautiful place to go for a walk or run. I love running by the water. I live right by the sea, so I run along the shoreline a lot, but it’s also great to run along rivers or canals. I really love the mosaic tiles and the leaves. Even more so, I’m happy you’re out and about, even if it’s just walking for now. How long before you can walk/run again? How is the recovery coming along?

    Like

    • Jim Brennan says:

      Hi Fullmoonrunner, nothing beats running by the water. My last marathon was on the Delaware Canal, a scenic stretch in Bucks County, Pennsylvania. Ironically, I had a scheduled appointment with my orthopedic doctor today that he cancelled because he got tied up in surgery. So what did I do? I went for a two mile run to test my injured hip, and I’m feeling pretty good right now so maybe I’m on my way. Thanks for asking.
      jim

      Like

  5. PB & Burger! I don’t know about that!
    It is amazing what you can see when you look.
    When my wife is driving I like to look around and look down streets and driveways to see what I may not see when I am driving.

    Like

Comments are closed.