Best of the Art of Running – Post #200

“There’s an African proverb: “When death finds you, may it find you alive.” Alive means living your own damn life, not the life that your parents wanted, or the life some cultural group or political party wanted, but the life that your own soul wants to live.” – Michael Meade

Ben Franklin - The First American

Ben Franklin – The First American

It seems ridiculous to me now when I think about how agonized I was starting this blog nearly three years ago. Along with this 200th post I recently logged my 20,000 visitor to the site and my 250th follower, so I must take a minute and thank all of you for your continued interest and support.

As this milestone approached I had several ideas what to write about, and then on my early morning run downtown with my team the other day a number of colorful murals demanded that I share the art that decorates the streets of Philadelphia. Some of the murals and buildings below are posted for the first time, while others have appeared in one of the previous sixteen entries in the Art of Running series.

Thank you! And enjoy the colorful and beautiful art along the streets of my hometown.AoR - Girard, angleAoR - I am strongAoR - Power of Music

Tin House

Tin House

Pretzel Park sculpture.

Pretzel Park sculpture.

AoR, Alt - s. st.AoR - Glass Wall

Sculpture of a paint brush rises 51 feet above Lenfest Plaza with a six-foot paint glob on Broad Street below. The sculpture is designed by world-renowned artist Claes Oldenburg.

Sculpture of a paint brush rises 51 feet above Lenfest Plaza with a six-foot paint glob on Broad Street below. The sculpture is designed by world-renowned artist Claes Oldenburg.

Ridge Avenue near 26th Street.

Ridge Avenue near 26th Street.

AoR - Blue & Orange Building

LOVE sculpture by Robert Indiana in Love Park (officially JFK Plaza) at the foot of Benjamin Franklin Parkway.

LOVE sculpture by Robert Indiana in Love Park (officially JFK Plaza) at the foot of Benjamin Franklin Parkway.

Cold War era Grumman S2F anti-submarine warfare plane sculpture by Jordan Griska in Lenfest Plaza at 16th and Broad Streets.

Cold War era Grumman S2F anti-submarine warfare plane sculpture by Jordan Griska in Lenfest Plaza at 16th and Broad Streets.

Mural - Girls

Rocky statue infront of the Philadelphia Museum of Art.

Rocky statue infront of the Philadelphia Museum of Art.

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in Art of Running, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Best of the Art of Running – Post #200

  1. diawalker says:

    I love the pictures. So inspiring! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. jeffthomsan1 says:

    This street art is just like your thoughts; pure, innocent and captivating. I think for me, the starting thought of being Alive and Soulful has most beautiful relevance! I have never burdened my soul for my family, friends and society and I did what I found right. Thanks for that wonderful expression, you made my day 🙂

    Like

  3. Congratulations! What a cool accomplishment. I’ve loved reading all of it!

    Like

  4. Beautiful art! And congratulations on your blog’s successful three-year journey! ^_^ I’ll be looking forward to reading more from your awesome blog!
    P.S. I love that proverb on the top. 🙂
    – Maria.

    Like

  5. That’s a great proverb. I hope to live by it…
    Congratulations for your achievements with your blog!

    Like

  6. I really like the proverb, so true. Not always easy to do, but then no one wants to look back 20 years from now and regret living a certain way..
    You live in a beautiful city, great pictures.

    Like

Comments are closed.