Virtual Run for Katie

“Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing is going to get better. It’s not.” – Dr. Seuss

In July I posted a story about virtual running. What, you might ask, is virtual running? Simply put, it is joining a group of people for a run without physically being together.

What!!!???

Let me explain. In Remembering A Life Struck Down Too Soon, I wrote about a memorial run planned for Katie Ladany,  a young school teacher who was struck by a tree limb five years ago while she was running on Forbidden Drive in Philadelphia. Many readers, as well as people I’ve spoken with, have told me they wouldn’t be able to make the run, but they can join the memorial run by running a five-mile route wherever they may be. So, say you live in Frisco, Colorado, and want to run in Katie’s memory as well. You can join all of the other runners by running a five-mile route on your favorite trail, like the stunning Summit County bike trail in the Rocky Mountains.

So join the run in Katie’s honor Tuesday, August 5th at 6 p.m., whether on Forbidden Drive in Fairmount Park in Philadelphia, the Rocky Mountains, or on the beach in Big Sur; or perhaps even the Scottish Highlands with Fullmoonrunner, or around Britain, in Leeds, Yorkshire or Bradford with RunHemingwayRun, or even back in the states with Andy in Boston at I’m A Runner And So Can You. When you are done your virtual run for Katie comment on Rite2Run about your experience, where you ran, what you saw, how you felt.

See you on the virtual trail!

 

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in Health, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Virtual Run for Katie

  1. runner500 says:

    I am afraid that I was a day late, Tuesday is one of my rest days (they seem more important as you get older) but more importantly I wanted to combine it with a trip to the tree that acted as a memorial to a fan of the football club I support. So a little way into my 15 miles around Beckenham Place Park in SE London, I stopped by the tree reflected about Katie, Jon and a couple of running friends who have passed on in the last few years. It was a great idea – I must do it more often.

    Like

  2. Thank you so much for this invitation, Jim! What a wonderful idea… Running is a privilege, and it’s always healthy to remember to not take anything for granted. I am just back from my run for Katie – a 12km run in our local fells, and one of my favourite routes. It follows a little stream up into the mountains, crossing many bridges in the forest, then goes under a waterfall (really!) and finally up onto the exposed peaks of the fells. A wonderful place to honour a beautiful life. Thank you again.

    Like

    • Jim Brennan says:

      You are a guiding spirit, Fullmoonrunner. Thank you, and thanks for the beautiful description of your running route, I felt like I ran it with you. Forbidden Drive is a lovely trail as well. I’ll share some photos for you and everyone to see. Be well, and thanks again!

      Like

  3. Pingback: Virtual Run for Katie | Visual Fling

Comments are closed.