Amazing forgiveness

Frankie, who blogs and runs the beach in Buncrana, Ireland, shared his post Amazing Forgiveness after reading Spirituality of Running on the Beach. You can read Frankie’s blog at http://truckerturningwrite.com/

Trucker Turning Write

PICT0033

“What mercy can there be for me, a wretch?”

Those words were uttered by an athiest onboard a sailing ship in 1748. The ship was being ripped to shreds by a north Atlantic storm. There was a hole in the hull and she was taking on water. After hours of bailing out water he cried “Lord have mercy on us.” The words surprised even him.

On the 8th of April 1748 the wind blew the ship to Ireland, to my town, to safety.

The man was a slave trader. He later went on to change his ways and write the song Amazing Grace. You can research the rest of his story if you are intersted.

The part I find amazing is that song sounds best when it is sung, not by white people, but by those whose ancestors were once the enslaved. Such forgiveness! Such inspiration!

I live in a…

View original post 34 more words

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Amazing forgiveness

  1. Thank you Jim.
    I was looking at your ‘about’ page again last night. You certainly have a very impressive CV.
    I was thinking about it again today. That compilation ‘Once a Welder’ , a great title and concept for a book of short stories.
    Your ‘about’ page is very inspirational. Thanks Jim. You have a new fan.
    Frankie.

    Like

    • Jim Brennan says:

      Hey Frankie, I’m glad to have you along for the ride. I have many friends from across the pond, some who lived in Ireland, others who are first or second generation. My great great grandfather sailed from Limerick to New York in the late 1800s. I’m planning to post a story from ‘Once A Welder’ for free on my website. I’ll announce it on the blog once I release it. Haven’t had any success in landing an agent or publisher for the collection yet, but that’s a labor intensive job in itself. I liked your Amazing Forgiveness post so much I reblogged it. Thanks for your kind words, and welcome aboard!
      jim

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.