Ten Years After

“Wheresoever you go, go with all of your heart. ” – Confucius

Chute leading to the finish line of the Steamtown Marathon before the race.

Chute leading to the finish line of the Steamtown Marathon before the race.

My son’s buddy reminded me that this year marks the tenth anniversary we ran the Steamtown Marathon in Scranton, Pennsylvania together. It was Shawn’s first. I should have remembered because I qualified for the Boston Marathon. You’d think I’d be embarrassed that I forgot. Dah!

I shared a hotel room with Shawn and his buddy Paul the night before the race. The two of them bantered and traded insults all night long, and then continued when we woke four hours later. I laughed the entire time. It was bliss. Made me feel twenty years younger, perhaps a factor in my finishing time.

Forever Young by Italian photographer Francesco Romoli

Forever Young by Italian photographer Francesco Romoli

My daughter, Colleen, was attending the University of Scranton that year. Col and her friends cheered me on down the final stretch to the finish line on Washington Avenue. After the race, we were all standing around and Shawn blurt out, “Who put that *#$!ing hill in the last mile,” referring to the steepest upward incline of the race at mile twenty-five. Instinctively, I hauled off and punched him in the chest and screamed, “Shawn!” Colleen and her friends were mortified, and she asked, “Dad! Why did you do that?” Apparently the old man was living in the past.

I’ll return to Steamtown this week and line up with Shawn and his brother-in-law Chris. They will finish well ahead of me ten years after I qualified for Boston, but I will savor every step through the mountains of Northeastern Pennsylvania, the small towns with their high school bands, passing the smiling kids from the Saint Joseph’s Center, my alma mater Marywood University, and listening to he deafening music and cheering crowd on Washington Ave. I’ll be the happiest man on earth to run 26.2 miles in my sixtieth year, and celebrate with a pint of Guinness at Andy Gavin’s Pub after the race.

You can read the entire account of my experience training and qualifying for the Boston Marathon in the Steamtown chapter of Twenty-four Years to Boston.Finish Line_0001

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in Health, Marathon, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ten Years After

  1. Wow Jim, you continue to amaze AND inspire me. My heartfelt congratulations on completing the Steamtown run—very COOL for a 60 year old guy. It was also fun to learn we share the same alma mater–another reason, I guess that I feel a strong connection with you 🙂 ~ Rick

    Like

    • Jim Brennan says:

      The feeling is likewise, Rick. I’ve been loving your photography on The Great American Landscape. And another Marywood grad, WoW! That is truly amazing. We are all linked somehow, right? Good luck to you, and thanks for writing.
      jim

      Like

  2. runner500 says:

    Good luck, enjoy the memories, enjoy the race and enjoy the beer afterwards!

    Like

Comments are closed.