All Are Welcome Here

“All Are Welcome Here.” – jbCover - 24 Years

What began three years ago as a running blog to promote Twenty-four Years to Boston has morphed into a medium to share information and ideas about everything from street art to writing to hiking the Appalachian Trail. I never planned Rite2Run to be a typical running blog. Consequently, my readers and followers include poets, vegetarian cooks, photographers, hikers, cyclists, motorcyclist, writers, fellow-bloggers, adventurers, and oddly enough, even a few runners. And for that I am glad. All are welcome here.

I wrote early this year that I would be spending more time on my writing blog Rite2Scribe and website Writings by Jim Brennan. The transition has been slow, but it is moving in that direction. Some reader asked if I will continue to write about running. My answer is this: There was a time I considered myself a runner who writes, now I consider myself a writer who runs. Running is part of who I am, so yes, it will continue to work its way into my writing.Rite2Run

I plan to release the eBook version of Twenty-four Years to Boston by the end of NovemberGetting the book on the market will be the easy part, getting the word out will take much more work. So pass the word along once the book is available, which I will announce here.

If you’ve read my memoir you know it’s not just about running. It’s about growing up in a blue-collar Philly neighborhood, working at the shipyard on the waterfront, barely graduating from high school, getting a college degree the old fashion way, (going to night classes,) drinking Guinness in corner pubs, hanging out with the guys, raising a family, finding success in the workplace, all weaved into distance running and the quest to run the Boston Marathon.

In other words, it is a story for everybody. All are welcome here.Mural - Mosiac S. St.

 

 

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to All Are Welcome Here

  1. aaronwest says:

    Hey Jim, I know this is an old post, but I bookmarked it so I could check on the upcoming digital release. I was please to find it on Kindle for a really inexpensive price. I would have paid more, but I’m sure it all adds up for you. Looking forward to the read.

    Like

    • Jim Brennan says:

      Thanks Aaron. I didn’t know you were a cultural geek, good for you. I’m impressed with Criterion Blues, very cool. I’m not doing the plank challenge, but I have incorporated the plank into my morning yoga routine. Thanks for turning your readers on to the discipline. I hope you enjoy the read. If so, pass the word, and feel free to review in Amazon. Thanks.
      jim

      Like

      • aaronwest says:

        Hey Jim, sorry, forgot I changed my WordPress profile this year. Yes, I am a major film geek and culture snob. This has been how I’ve spent my time post-op and will try to balance the two out.

        Looking forward to the read and I will definitely review on Amazon. Best of luck with the book!

        Like

        • Jim Brennan says:

          I’ll be following your reviews on Criterion Blues. Loved the Jimi Plays Monterey review. I belong to a local movie theater that plays mostly indies but some feature films as well. Saw Wild and Foxcatcher last week. Good luck with the site, Aaron.

          Like

          • aaronwest says:

            Thanks, Jim. I also support my local indie theater. Saw Wild and mostly enjoyed it, but no Foxcatcher yet. Just a word of warning, a lot of my tastes are old, foreign and obscure, so I hope my project doesn’t bore you. 😉

            Like

            • Jim Brennan says:

              The thing about Wild, beside being a Reese Witherspoon fan and admiring the story, is that I do a lot of hiking on the Appalachian Trail and am planning to hike the Camino de Santiago, so it was relative. Don’t worry about me getting bored. I’m always up to learn a thing or two. I don’t expect everyone to think I’m the most interesting man in the world either.

              Like

  2. It seems you’ve developed an eclectic group of readers. Wishing you the best on the book release.

    Like

Comments are closed.