eBook – A Different Kind of Running Memoir

“Writing novels, to me, is basically a kind of manual labor. Writing itself is mental labor, but finishing an entire book is closer to manual labor.” – Haruki Murakamicover_large

Cover design by Sean Montgomery

After one year in print Twenty-four Years to Boston is now available as an eBook at Amazon, Barnes & NobleiTunes and Smashwords. Now you can read a different kind of running story on any device–Kindle, Nook, Smart Phone, Tablet or laptop.

While most running books are written by elite runners, coaches and trainers, my story is about a blue-collar runner who grew up working on the Philadelphia waterfront, raised four kids, and traveled widely on business. Regardless how hectic life got I always made time to run. Running grounded me and helped ease my stress. Approaching midlife I decided to run my second marathon, twenty years after my first, and then went on to do the best running of my life. I trained to qualify and ran the Boston Marathon when I hit fifty and never looked back.

Since I decided to pursue the writing life full-time in 2009 I feel like I’ve been serving a second apprenticeship (my first being a shipyard apprentice in the 1970s.) Every step I take is an adventure, which now includes the publishing business, most recently e-publishing. A few lessons I’ve learned include the importance of readings, book reviews and PR. Admittedly, I am not my best PR man.

So spread the word–tell family and friends, that weird uncle, the neighborhood bully,  the neighborhood saint, the neighborhood drunk, the who damn neighborhood for that matter. And if anyone is so inclined, write a review in Amazon, iTunes, Barnes & NobleSmashwords or Goodreads.

Thanks! And enjoy the read.

 

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in 24 Years to Boston, About, Health, Marathon, Running, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to eBook – A Different Kind of Running Memoir

  1. runner500 says:

    Was worried that wouldn’t be available across the Atlantic, but most certainly is – so will download later this evening, although will have to wait behind Far From the Madding Crowd, although perhaps there is a degree of overlap…

    Like

    • Jim Brennan says:

      I’m happy to hear that the eBook version is available for Kindle in the UK. Seems the print version never appeared on Amazon.uk. I believe the eBook will be available worldwide. Oh, and I am humbled to be right behind Thomas Hardy. Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. WalkToRio says:

    I gotta check your book.
    I’ll make sure to get it next week, it’ll be a good for the next few long flights I’ll be taking.

    Like

  3. OK. Done. Downloaded to my Kindle. I’ll give it a read and then a review. I really like dedication page and that you are donating a portion to The One Fund. Class act, Mr. Brennan.

    Like

Comments are closed.