Maintaining Your Edge

It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters, in the end.”
― Ernest HemingwayHemingway

Goals worth pursuing often seem daunting. Take a degree or an apprenticeship for example. Focusing on the diploma or certification can make a goal appear unreachable. It’s more productive to focus on short-term objectives, incremental improvements, and maintaining your edge. When your concentration shifts from earning a degree to studying, assignments, and exams you will see and feel progress, which results in a sense of accomplishment. This is an effective strategy that works for any goal requiring endurance, from playing an instrument to running an ultra-marathon.

A friend recently asked how my training was coming along for the ultra-marathon. Hmmm, I knew there was something I’d forgotten–the 50K (31 mile) race I registered for. Not a great feeling. But instead of freaking out and focusing on the distance, I considered my overall condition and experience.

I wouldn’t have been able to shift focus had I not kept myself in reasonably good condition and have years of experience–in other words, my edge–nor if I was starting from scratch. I ran a marathon in October and have taken a couple of three-hour runs since. My strategy for the marathon can’t be found in fitness magazines or running books. I stayed in a bubble the entire race–I didn’t look at clocks, did my best to avoid seeing any mile markers, and streamed a lot of really good music. I’m planning a similar strategy for the ultra.

When I was caught slacking on my training, I immediately went out for a three-and-a-half hour run. Time-driven training is something I picked up from a runner on West River Drive in Philly many years ago. He told me that instead of doing the highly touted twenty-mile training run for the marathon he did a three-hour run. I adopted the strategy after I ran the Boston Marathon. Free of qualifying goals and personal records, running became more fun.

So there you have it my friends. Regardless the goal you pursue, think long-term, concentrate on short-term, and revel in your progress. Be happy with what you achieve, every day.Forever Young

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in Health, Marathon, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Maintaining Your Edge

  1. LB says:

    You are so right about the increments. No matter the goal, short term accomplishments help us maintain focus and motivation.
    When is that ultra again? I’ve forgotten

    Like

  2. insideoutfitnesshoodriver says:
  3. Julio says:

    I have to agree with you, a big goal is made out of several little success. The things that matter can hardly be accomplished from 0 to 100 and this is a good thing in my opinion. Life would be a very boring experience if we were able to jump from our desires to the outcome right away. Accomplishing your goal sure is a rewarding experience, but most of the time our growth as human beings happens on the way to our goals, not at the finish line.

    Like

Comments are closed.