Art of Running – Part XVIII – The Rural Run

“To live permanently away from the country is a form of slow death.” – Esther Meynell

All seventeen entries in the Art of Running series I launched last year have been taken during urban runs through city streets. The irony is, though I am a Philly native, I’ve resided in the country for the past five years, yet not once did I include art I’ve encountered during my rural runs. Since I’ll be moving back to the city next year I thought I’d better share a collection of art I’ve shot in wide open spaces.

The following photos were taken in various locations–the Delaware Canal, Lake Galena, the Appalachian Trail, and places unknown, and include various forms of art–paintings, sculptures, structures, and nature itself, or what I consider the art of the universe.

Painting by the Lake

Painting by the Lake

Farm House

Farm House

photo

Big Sky

Big Sky

Upper Delaware River from the Delaware Canal

Upper Delaware River from the Delaware Canal

Into the Canal

Into the Canal

Art Along the Canal

Art Along the Canal

Sculpture

Sculpture

Sculpture II

Sculpture II

By the Stream

By the Stream

House Hid in the Woods

House Hid in the Woods

Hiking Partner

Hiking Partner

Around the Campfire

Around the Campfire

Stable Along the Trail

Stable Along the Trail

White Flower

White Flower

Red Flower

Red Flower

Violet

Violet

White Blaze

White Blaze

Top of the Mountain

Top of the Mountain

Hobo

Hobo

Sunset

Sunset

Hiking into the Woods with Running Shoes

Hiking into the Woods with Running Shoes

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in Art of Running, Running, Travels and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Art of Running – Part XVIII – The Rural Run

  1. LB says:

    I’ve loved this series of posts, and in fact was telling someone about them the other day. This is such a fun collection, and so varied. The photos of the river remind me of the New River that I often shoot.
    And of course I love your hiking partner, especially around the fire.

    Like

    • Jim Brennan says:

      Thanks LB. Bella, my over-active, hyper-friendly Golden is getting stronger with age. She’ll be ten next summer and is picking up steam. She can hike all day long and chase anything that moves.

      Like

  2. Mark Mangan says:

    Nice shots Jim. What section of the city are you moving to?

    Like

  3. Brittany says:

    These photos are fantastic!! I felt like I was on this adventure.

    Like

  4. Sophie33 says:

    Amazing cool pictures from.your surroundings, dear Jim! Fun to read & see! 😀

    Like

    • Jim Brennan says:

      As are your fabulous recipes. I was afraid you’d be taking time off when you were sick a couple weeks ago, but you never missed a beat, thankfully. I bet your passion for cooking got you through your illness unscathed. Be well, Sophie.

      Like

  5. A wonderful collection. Thank you for sharing your art. Something about that bicycle set hit the wanderlust button.

    Like

Comments are closed.