[This Is] What I Have to Say About Running

“That day, for no particular reason, I decided to go for a little run.” – Forrest Gump

photo

Steven King got me thinking about what it is I want to say about running. That’s right, Steven King whose thirty-five novels have earned him more than $350 million.  I haven’t read one of them, I’m just not a horror/sci-fi/fantasy kind of guy. But I am reading On Writing, a book he wrote about his craft. I was curious because every writing seminar or workshop I’ve ever been to, and every writer I’ve spoken with has recommended the book.

The thing that separates King from his contemporaries is his ability to reduce a process so elusive that even the most successful authors admit they don’t quite know how they do it to clear, intelligible concepts that even a simpleton like me can comprehend. It is King’s straight talk that got me thinking about this little blog of mine.

What is it that I have to say about running that Runner’s World, Running Times, Bill Rodgers, and hundreds of running bloggers haven’t already said? What do I have to say about running that’s different from anyone else out there?

What I have to say about running is this: Running is a primal activity that we’ve all been doing since we let go of the coffee table as toddlers. In other words, it’s not complicated. Running is a liberating endurance activity that strengthens the mind, body and spirit. It manifests the best of who we are. The effects of running have a positive influence on other aspects of our lives–nutrition, thinking, attitude, relationships, the way we spend our day.

I prefer to write about inspiration over training programs, art over regimen, life over VO2 Max, and I favor diversity–my scribblings are as likely to be about hiking or travel as they are about the marathon. I choose uplifting stories like Kayla Montgomery, one of the nation’s top young female runners who competes with multiple sclerosis, or Ben Comen, the high school cross-country runner with cerebral palsy.

I began Rite2Run in 2011 as a runner who writes. I go into 2015 as a writer who runs. If you are looking for something that pushes beyond the boundaries of the typical running topics, follow me. Bring a friend. I welcome all of you along on my journey.

“And that’s all I have to say about that.” – Forrest Gump

73359980_2171891_30

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in Health, Running, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to [This Is] What I Have to Say About Running

  1. Mark Mangan says:

    Write Jim Write!

    Like

  2. Kevin says:

    Great post. I am still a runner who blogs and not the other way round but I love reading well written posts. Keep it up

    Like

  3. Kindred Spirits. I too, am reading On Writing. Just started.

    Like

    • Jim Brennan says:

      You can learn a lot about ‘voice’ just by reading that book. It’s as if ‘Little Stevie’ (as he refers to himself quite often) is sitting next to you at the pub telling you stories. He really is amazing.
      Be well, Chuck, and have a happy and healthy 2015.

      Like

Comments are closed.