Steamtown 2014 – Postscript

“Everything is relative, and only that is absolute.” – Auguste Comte

On October 13, 2014 I wrote about crossing the finish line of the Steamtown Marathon in The Day After Ten Years After:

“As I ran down the final stretch on Washington Avenue there was one runner in front of me the entire way. The last hundred feet or so he appeared to be fighting leg cramps and I held back so I wouldn’t pass him. He must have caught me out of the corner of his eye because he gestured for me to pass him. I lightly placed my hand on his back and said, “You go, I’m in no hurry.” He reached out, we grasped hands and crossed the finish line together at 4:25, my happiest four-plus hour marathon ever.”

We parted ways and I figured I’d never see my fellow-marathoner again until my son’s buddy Shawn who ran the race with me texted this picture to me over the weekend. The photo appeared in the Steamtown Marathon Magazine.Cummings 1

Photo credit: Jim Cummings, Assistant Race Director, Steamtown Marathon

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in Health, Marathon, Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Steamtown 2014 – Postscript

  1. Sophie33 says:

    A cool picture & a lovely post, dear Jim! X

    Like

  2. Theresa Lafferty says:

    So insightful, this is the marathon Shawn ran. Your hair is so long and you are so in shape. May you run forever my dear friend.

    Like

    • Jim Brennan says:

      I slept on the floor of Shawn and Chris’s room the night before the marathon, that’s why I look so fresh. Ironically, Shawn sent me the picture. I don’t know if I’ll run forever, but I have no plans of stopping until my legs won’t carry me anymore. And I’m thankful for every day I am able.

      Like

  3. LB says:

    You must have been so excited to see this photo! I remember the story and this photo is really great, Jim.
    Also … your previous post about the urban park: while your park is much bigger than the one in Radford, we too have an urban park called Wildwood. Some of your photos look like they could have been taken there.
    Beautiful!!

    Like

    • Jim Brennan says:

      Yeah, LB. We just moved so I didn’t get the magazine yet. When Shawn texted me the photo it was a hoot. Wildwood, huh? Nothing like an urban park, it’s like an oasis in the desert. Ironically, I’ve spent many a summer in Wildwood, NJ. In fact, my buddy Billy (who I’ve wrote about after he passed away last year) and I cycled 90 miles to Wildwood just months before he lost his battle to lung cancer.

      Like

  4. Chris Bauer says:

    Dude: Great picture, great anecdote, great message.

    Like

Comments are closed.