Time to Live

“Any day you wake up on this side of the earth is a good day.” – unknown

A friend of mine likes to say that any day he wakes on this side of the earth is a good day. Can’t argue with that logic. We all go through loss–parents, friends, relatives, co-workers, even people who annoy us. Loss is part of life. But as long as you are on this side of the earth it’s time to get on with the business of living. And the closer your relationship with the person you lost, the more you owe it to them to live the fullest life possible.

photoIn the past year I’ve lost my Mom and one of my closest friends. Both of them would be disappointed (actually they’d be pissed-off) if I wasted time grieving, so I carry their memory with me when I go about my daily business. They are with me on long runs through the trails of the Wissahickon with my Golden, when I’m writing an article for a literary journal, or when I’m throwing my grandkids on the bed and jumping on them during a WWF-style Texas Death Match, even when I’m sipping a Guinness. That’s the way they’d want it, so that’s the way it will be.

Loss is a part of life. Loss is a reminder to keep on living. If you are reading this you are on the upside, so get on with it. Live!photo

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in Health, Running, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Time to Live

  1. Sophie33 says:

    I am sorry to hear that you lost your mom too. Hugs & live well indeed! Xxx

    Like

  2. Great outlook. I agree 100%! Get busy livin’!

    Like

Comments are closed.