Ride of Silence 2014

Loyal fellow-blogger and (motor)cyclist LB took the time to comment on Ghost Bike @ Ridge & Girard and shared with me her post Ride of Silence about a community cycling event held each year in honor of those who have died on our roads and hiways. The Ride for Silence has grown to 340 events on 7 continents, in 20 countries, and 49 States in the USA.

You can read more of LB’s work at Life on the Bike and Other Fab Things 

 

Life on the Bike and other Fab Things

The 7th Ride of Silence in the New River Valley (NRV) of Virginia was a great success.  We had over 100 participants in this annual event to honor and remember those injured or killed while riding on public roadways.  I’ve not seen the total numbers from around the globe, but I do know that there were 313 rides held in the United States alone.  It is incredibly powerful to know that you are riding with people from all over the world … on the same date, at the same time.  It is also incredibly sad to think that these events have to be held.

IMG_4654

The Ride of Silence – NRV began, as always, with a very brief program.  Advocacy news and updates, and then instructions about the ride are given.  I’m proud to serve as one of the event organizers (of all my volunteer interests, this is one of my…

View original post 213 more words

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ride of Silence 2014

  1. LB says:

    I’m not sure that I thanked you for sharing this or not, but I hope that somewhere along the way I did. Several folks have commented or liked the link and that means the Ride of Silence event continues to get publicity.
    Thank you!

    Like

  2. Mark Smidt says:

    I love this idea for raising awareness, but I’m sad that it’s necessary.

    Like

Comments are closed.