Poetry in Motion – Haiku

“Poetry is when an emotion has found its thought and the thought has found words.” – Robert Frost

Watch a gymnast, figure skater, pole vaulter, soccer player, an equestrian, a boxer… watch a nine-month old taking her first steps for that matter–step, stumble, fall–the pure beauty of determination. You have just witnessed poetry in motion. If you don’t see it, you’re simply not looking hard enough.

Screen Shot 2015-02-08 at 8.16.19 AMEarlier this year I watched professional boxers, trainers, and pad men coach actors on the set of Creed. They bobbed and weaved, sweat pouring from their bodies, as they created poetry in their own medium.

These days while I’m running a trail, sweat dripping from my own body, haiku swirls in my head. Haiku is an ancient Japanese form of poetry consisting of three lines in the pattern 5 – 7 – 5. Modern haiku breaks from the traditional. It is not as rigid, and need not conform to the traditional formula.

I share the following haiku that I ginned up on the trail:

Haiku in Motion

Eyes lowered over nose

Hidden rock catches toes

Forehead slams, blood flows.

 

Warrior, Tree

Spider cactus and me,

Who’s looking at whom?

 

Crisp amber hops

Tickle taste buds, quench thirst

Gliding down my throat.

 

Steel cord whips grass

Across the flesh of my calves

Blood drips into soil.

 

Twenty dollar bill

for ten dollar roses,

Keep the change, my friend.

 

Leonard says, “You need not understand poetry to appreciate it.” More on appreciation irrespective of understanding in a future post.

 

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Poetry in Motion – Haiku

  1. runner500 says:

    Haiku are an interesting form aren’t they? I have been playing around with a few in my head for a while – although they aren’t good enough yet to write up yet. Oddly, they were key to the first post on my ‘side project’ a review of Denis Thériault’s The Peculiar Life of the Lonely Postman which has some superb Haiku and sensual Tanka
    https://theunreliablenarratives.wordpress.com
    It was a really good piece by the way – some excellent Haiku.

    Like

Comments are closed.