Crusader Classic – 2015

“It is wonderful how much time good people spend fighting the devil. If they would only expend the same amount of energy loving their fellow men, the devil would die in his own tracks of ennui.” – Helen KellerCrusaders - FJHS

When my buddy Monk asked that I help spread the word about the Crusader Classic 5K I didn’t hesitate to volunteer. I mean, how could I decline to lend a hand to support the place that provided me with fond memories of cutting classes, getting jug (detention,) and miraculously, graduating, an achievement I attribute to divine intervention. Yes, Father Judge High School is my alma mater, and the Crusader Classic 5K is an annual race to raise funds for the Lt. Robert Neary Scholarship Fund.

CrusadersOne discovery I made at Father Judge that has stayed with me all of these years was that I could run really far, and I wasn’t even on the track team. I was a knucklehead football player, but to get a spot on the roster the players had to run a six-minute mile. During two-a-day summer practice sessions the coaches would send us on long runs through Pennypack Park. Everyone hated it, except me. I wasn’t the fastest guy on the team, but I could run, like forever, without getting tired.

Crusaders - FJSo if you’d like to run the same course I discovered running more than four decades ago, and you live within driving distance of Philly, or if you have frequent flyer miles you want to redeem, join me on Sunday, October 4, 2015 for the 13th Annual Crusader Classic 5K Run/Fun Walk. You can register for the race online at http://crusaderclassic.ezregister.com/

Following are more details:

ALL PROCEEDS BENEFIT Lt. ROBERT NEARY SCHOLARSHIP FUND

ENTRY FEE AND REGISTRATION:  $25.00 pre-registration if postmarked by September 25, 2014; $30.00 thereafter, $15 for all children 18 and under.  $5 of each adult registration will be sent to the Semper Fi Fund. Make checks payable to Friends of Father Judge Inc. And if you can’t make it, feel free to make a donation.

All race day registrations will take place in the Father Judge school yardbeginning at 7:30am.  Event tee shirts will be provided to all who pre-register (and to race-day registrants while supplies last.)  Race numbers, shirts and information packet pick up will be on race day only in the Father Judge school yard.

STARTING TIME AND LOCATION: The band shell is in Pennypack Park near Welsh Road and Rowland Avenue at 9:00 AM.  Parking is available in the Father Judge schoolyard.

COURSE INFORMATION:  Race will begin at the band shell, continue along the banks of the Pennypack Creek and finish with a lap around the Father Judge track (behind the school)

AWARDS:  Medals will be presented to first through third place, male and female finishers in the following age groups:  14 and under, 15-19, 20-29, 30-39, 40-49, 50-59, 60 and over; special awards to the first Judge student, first Alumni and first female.

For additional information and to register online go to:

http://www.friendsoffatherjudge.com/crusader-classic

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.