The Enduring Divine Lorraine

“Boys will be boys, and so will a lot of middle-aged men.” – Kin Hubbard

IMG_5295My fascination with the Diving Lorraine Hotel began in the early 1980s when I’d pass it during the annual Broad Street Run in Philadelphia. Thirty years passed, and the abandoned hotel on the corner of Broad Street & Fairmount Avenue so captivated me on my early morning runs with my friends at Back on My Feet that I shot some photos and posted a story as part of my Art of Running series. Only now do I admit that I must have a love affair with the building, so much so that it is featured in the current online issue of the Schuylkill Valley Journal

Read about the history, abandonment and revival of the The Divine Lorraine: A 19th Century Victorian Fortress at Broad & Fairmount here.

 

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.