Buddha Beach

“For out of the abundance of the heart, the mouth speaks.” – Matthew

It’s been nearly four years since I posted Balance on Buddha Beach, yet it remains one of my top viewed post each week. This could mean many things, like maybe I’m getting increasingly boring with time, or perhaps Buddha Beach is really that cool. I choose to go with the latter.IMG_2876

Since my wife and I visited Buddha Beach in Sedona, Arizona, I’ve learned what an obscure find it was. Even a well-traveled professional photographer who has won many commissions from the National Park Service e-mailed me that he’d never heard of it. Recently I went back and revisited the photos I shot on that trip and share them below, many of which weren’t included in the original post.

While we were at Buddha Beach we built our Family Monument (below,) composed of one rock each for my wife and I, and one for each of my children and grandchildren. We’ll have to get back to Sedona someday to update our monument and add three more.

IMG_2886

Our 2012 Family Monument. An updated collection would add three more rocks.

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in Running, Travels, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Buddha Beach

  1. One of my favorite places.

    Like

  2. Sophie33 says:

    That is cool & strange, right?

    Like

  3. LB says:

    Jim, I swear I remember that post … or perhaps I similar one?
    Either way, what an incredible place! The stacks of balanced rocks, of course, but also the variation in color.

    Like

    • Jim Brennan says:

      I’m sure you’ve seen the rock formations in natural nature settings. Keep an eye out on your cycle adventures, especially off road in the countryside. Sedona is “Red Rock” country, yes, the colors are magical, especially around sundown. But I bet you the rock formations would look cool in black & white. A good subject for your Monochromia.

      Like

  4. Brittany says:

    I think I’ve been here!!! While on a hike in Sedona many moons ago my friend and I stumbled upon a place that looked just like this with all these cairn piles! So amazing.

    Like

    • Jim Brennan says:

      If you’ve been to Sedona and think you’ve been there, you were. I can’t imagine there being anything else like it anywhere in the world. It is incredibly powerful, as much for its beauty as for the way it seems to go on and on forever as you walk up the river bank. What a find!

      Like

  5. What a wonderful place! Like the way you have added your own personal collection.

    Like

  6. Paul B says:

    That’s lovely – well worth a revisit!

    Like

Comments are closed.