Ansel Adams

“Each day was a severe test for me, sitting in a dreadful classroom while the sun and fog played outside.”  Ansel Adams about school

Screen Shot 2016-02-20 at 4.51.06 PM

February 20, 1902 – April 22, 1984

Today is the birthday of Ansel Adams, photographer and environmentalist. Adams was an unruly boy—hyperactive and mostly likely also dyslexic. Though he was expelled from several schools, it did not stop him from becoming one of the most recognized American landscape photographers, most notably for his photos of the American West and Yosemite National Park.

Screen Shot 2016-02-20 at 5.03.29 PM

 

Screen Shot 2016-02-20 at 4.40.48 PM

Maroon Bells

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ansel Adams

  1. Sophie33 says:

    Thanks for introducing me to him. I lean red something new today! 🙂 x

    Like

  2. LB says:

    Thanks for letting me know about Ansel Adams birthday, and especially for sharing that quote.
    You know, I’ve never been to Yosemite. Have you?
    It must be breathtaking!

    Like

    • Jim Brennan says:

      I haven’t been, LB, but I must. Can’t leave this party without seeing the national treasure. Ansel worked predominantly in black & white, as you know. His work reminds me of your monochrome. Be well!

      Like

Comments are closed.