Changing Lucy

“It’s not our job to toughen our children up to face a cruel and heartless world. It’s our job to raise children who will make the world a little less cruel and heartless.” – L.R. Knost

Changing Lucy the other day I thought of the similarities between the task at hand, one I was in up to my knuckles in, and riding a bike–both can be learned by anyone who possesses the will and once mastered you never forget.

IMG_0070It’s been decades since the last time I changed my kids and while changing Lucy I felt as if I’d done it yesterday. I thought back to my past life as a shipyard grunt, how guys would pump their chest all macho and brag how they don’t do diapers–women’s work they called it. I could never figure how guys who crawled around in oily bilges or rusty tanks had a problem with sinking their fingers into a pile of crap.

The shipyard was the land of the eclectic: ex-cons, soapbox preachers, druggies and amateur boxers. I’d do some bragging of my own for all to hear; how I could eat warm gooey chocolate-chip brownies and wash them down with a beer while changing my kids dirty diapers and not get the least bit nauseous. I was the lone dessenter, but in my book that’s what a man is made of. I mean, anyone who would sit idle while their own spit and blood sat in a pile of shit ought to be made to sit in a pile of shit themselves. Poetic?

Having kids is a package deal. You take the bitter with the batter, the love with the crap.

It’s all good. Lucy showed me.

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Changing Lucy

  1. Sophie33 says:

    I don’t have any kids so I can’t relate. But I loved this post!

    Like

  2. Dennis says:

    Jim, you never cease to amaze with your on point observations. Thanks

    Like

Comments are closed.