No Politico

“I write entirely to find out what I’m thinking, what I’m looking at, what I see and what it means.” – Joan Didion

I follow bar rules for blogging – never discuss religion or politics. But the ongoing spectacle the media is selling as a presidential campaign is just too entertaining to resist. My wife and I follow the daily madness and wager what will make Weekend Update on Saturday Night Live. Many times we are right. And just as the circus roles into my hometown Philadelphia and I didn’t think it could get any better, the Republican front runners are urging John Kasich, the only sensible candidate in their party, to drop out.

When will people come to their senses?

Like the immortal Joan Didion put it, I need to write to know what I’m thinking, so I hammered out this poem to make sense of the 2016 presidential campaign.

 

Hash Browns on Super Bowl Sunday

 

The day I told her I love her more than Charlie Brown loved Lucy

Someone wearing a Donald Trump mask threatened to jump from the Statue of Liberty

Some things never change; Marcie still resented being named after her mother’s pet guinea pig

It was maddening to watch her pull the football away every time he was about to kick off

And the Democrats said he had a crack in his head the size of the Liberty Bell

Maybe she didn’t like pets

But as long as it made sense to him, that’s all that matters

Meanwhile Fred, Marcie’s husband of twenty-five years, reverted to the solace of hashish

While Charlie Brown made hash browns on Super Bowl Sunday

Which is essential when planning a long-term strategy, whether in love or politics

The vagrant in a John Adams wig sitting in Tun Tavern has nothing to do with this story

Though Maggie, Fred’s daughter, got pissed when her toddler found his hash pipe stuffed in the front seat of his Bonneville

Lucy finally figured it out on Champs-Elysees in Paris on their fortieth anniversary

And Marcie took a long toke and made salacious eyes at Fred

Fortunately, voters woke up on election day and realized there was no turning back

               jim brennan

About Jim Brennan

Jim is a Philadelphia-based writer, author, poet and editor for the Schuylkill Valley Journal.
This entry was posted in poetry, Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.